You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: .

in #art6 years ago

It is great to have you here Jon! I just wish I could some day meet you in person - I've known you on the internet for ages already. Perhaps you find a venue in the EU to present your collection and put a show together. I have several connections here that could possibly be of interest - and maybe check out @libaws (she is idling on steemit at the moment), her experience in promoting and organizing exhibitions here (and internationally) is invaluable.
@reinhard-schmid is the curator in Viechtach, Bavaria of the Alte Rathaus, a place that consistently shows "our" kind of art every year. There are others, such as the Bator Gallery in Poland who put together the Magical Dreams IV traveling show were Peter and I are currently shown.

Sort:  

.

Jon, why not do it in the form of a small drawing show? Recently I just sent 2 pieces to Don Farrell in Seattle, in an envelope (as a letter, A4 size), and ordered frames from Dick Blick art supplies to have them shipped to him. He framed my work and it is currently showing in Seattle. Should I want them back, he can return them the same way and keep the frames for his trouble, but likely I will keep them at his place there for future shows in the US. He had shown 3 other works of mine before already. Miguel Tio in New York has several of my pieces as well which he puts into shows whenever he shows his stuff (usually with AOI in New York and Montreal).
When I was assistant curator at the UofL Art Gallery in Canada, we imported a show of Surrealist drawings from Spain, which was a small parcel that arrived under the radar of customs, and we, as a gallery, had a whole bunch of quick-change aluminum frames just for such occasions (most public galleries in Canada do - sort of like a standard). I framed that show within an afternoon.
And you should know that for the "Exquisite Corpse" cooperative works we send stuff back and forth all over the world in envelopes all the time. The postage for a medium size (letter size) envelope is minimal - and: NO CUSTOMS!
As far as I remember, when I shipped my drawing to you (way back when) from Canada, in a tube, it didn't cost that much either, and if the value given is not astronomical, customs does not even bother with it (like: under $ 300.- or so). But envelope is the best, because you don't have to "cheat".