Art & Woodworking: How I relief carved a Tribute for Tim. Complete process with pictures.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

TimTheTatman Tribute.

Relief carving is a type of woodcarving in which figures are carved in a flat panel of wood. The figures project only slightly from the background rather than standing freely.

More recent carvings: Wolf Face & Gangster Owl & The Elf & Some Foxes

(1) The tribute hanging on the wall like a painting.

(2) The tribute against a black background.

The pictures above are the results of at least forty five hours of work. Even though I think this piece turned out pretty good, I’m not a professional woodworker. I’m still learning and that is the sole reason why I would like to share my woodworking process and progress with you Steemers.

Process.

Who the hell is TimTheTatman? Well, with over a million followers, Tim is one of the bigger streamers on Twitch. There is a reason for that. He’s in my honest opinion more entertaining than most comedy shows. I’ve been watching him for years and for all that I want to thank him.

(3) After transferring Tim’s logo using some carbon paper, I started working on the bear. It being the most prominent part of the logo, I wanted to start on it first instead of doing the outlines.

(4) His upper lip and cheeks were actually a pretty good challenge.

(5) To get a better picture of how to get the different layers done I started on the outline.

(6) After getting the outline done I began on the letters in the logo. This actually took me a very long time since I wanted to make the cuts as sharp as possible.

(7) The outer line was important to expose.

(8) In the beginning I was a bit afraid of carving the claws, but luckily the outer line was thick enough for it not to just break away.

(9) After exposing the outer line I started working on the details. I tried making the letters more pop and the wings more elegant.

(10) I finished the carving and all the details and did sandpaper the piece just slightly.

Next.

You might be wondering. Tom, what are you going to make next? At the moment I’m planning to do one more carving in MDF. This carving will contain a scared astronaut looking at space whales. After that I’ll be focusing on carving in different types of wood.

End.

For those that are unaware, I do also stream all my woodworking endeavours live on Twitch.tv. As of right now I’ll also try to post on this blog at least once every two weeks. Interested in supporting and following my efforts of becoming a better woodworker? A follow on Steemit would mean the world to me.

Social & Media.

I’m happy to answer all the questions that come my way.

Much Love,

TomTinderbox

Sort:  

hi @tomtinderbox this is something very creative👏🏼

Thank you Myaceh! If you're interested you can see more of my work on my Instagram.

glad to meet you @tomtinderbox👋🏼

This is a fantastic design, congratulations.

Thank you! It's Tim's official logo, so I can't say it's mine. The carving is all done by me however.

I’m happy to answer all the questions that come my way.

Hi, Nice job. Looks great.