Drawing Daenerys Targaryen (Khaleesi) - The Mother of Dragons

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2311.jpg

I want to challenge myself I want to try and draw something that's quite detailed. Right from the start had an idea of how I wanted to go about composing this image and normally I would create some rough thumbnail sketches to give myself a few ideas. I started off by making a really rough preliminary sketch and started to plan out where I wanted everything.

IMG_2267.jpg

It was difficult to draw out such a small scale and create those details but I just carefully work out where to place the marks with the pencil and eventually it all comes together.

IMG_2272.jpg

Perhaps one of the most challenging things with this drawing specifically, was to draw in the eyes correctly. I had to make sure I was using a sharp pencil so that I could be more accurate.

IMG_2275.jpg

I tried to draw in the majority of her surroundings first so that I was confident with the proportions. I'm using a 4b charcoal pencil. I was able to get a range of different pencil shades and turns just by changing the pressure I apply to the paper.

IMG_2279.jpg

Most of the time when you create a portrait, it's the person you have drawn that should be the main subject that means you don't want your background to take away the attention from that subject. You don't want it to overpower the main aspect of the drawing. You should also look at how you have done the drawing. Look at how dark you have shaded in parts of the drawing. Think of the contrast it would have with a certain background.

IMG_2283.jpg

IMG_2285.jpg

IMG_2286.jpg

IMG_2288.jpg

The overall drawing had taken me a long time to finish about eight hours, so quite a while to finish but I really enjoy the process of creating them and doing something different once in a while.

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Such a great talent you possess my friend. Steemit needs a very talented person like you in the community. Watching out for your upcoming post. CHeers!

Thank you for your support! It means a lot to me! :) @hiroyamagushi

you are very talented mate. followed u. i do oil painting, but i feel like im walking in mud! take my hand.
https://steemit.com/@expressionism
check my work if it worth ur resteeming. thank you

Concuerdo con el amigo @hiroyamagishi, tienes un GRAN TALENTO. Yo diría que los ojos que dibujaste son más hermosos que los de la propia actriz. Igualmente la postura de la madre de los dragones es exacta, sin hablar de los dragones, mil felicitaciones amigo @vanansteam.

she's so beautiful, beauty, brain and a good leader in GOT.

Yes she have everything, if only she was real ahaha

My favorite is emilia clarke
Great work man I appreciate your talent and efforts

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @sanjay20.

This comment has received a 0.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pritam20.

Well done ..
Nice .. Thank you for sharing your day with us
For more creativity .. Thank you for the photos

Thank you for your awesome comment my friend! Wish you the best!

Wow , such a great talent you have 😊😊😊

Hey @vaansteam I love the black and white contrast you used to highlight the body of khaleesi. the design of her that you draw is extraordinary, I know its her but its your percepcion of how you look at her, 100 points for that.

I think also that the detailing that you did with khaleesi you didnt do it with her dragons, why? it was on purpose?, because i would love it see detailing dragons in the draw. in the series we look the beauty of Khaleesi that's true, but we also look at the impact of the dragons in the scene. and that would be interesting to rescue for your drawing. and finally I guess if you dark the background a little bit you could highlight more the shape of khaleesi. but thats and idea, idk what do you think of that, haha.

besides that idk how long you have been drawing, but I know that you are a really good artist. And you have the gift, use it! and keep learning and getting better every day!

@ceheiberg thank you for taking your time to write this. Yes it did on purpose. Cause i want to focus more on her but you’re right the dragon does need more attention. I really appreciate your encouragement. Thank you very much!

Amazing work! You are very talented!!

Thank you so much! Means a lot!

i like to draw too @vaansteam how about an art-off between you and me we both can draw something same and lets see who's better. just for fun

@hassansteemit I never had anyone challenge me before :)

Very nice pick... looks like a modern type illustration of her.

Thank you. Yes kinda modern :)

Initially the pet looks real but when we scroll down we can see the wood work

Thank you for pointing that out :)

Most welcome the picture are excellent

Wow, that's really great work. I'm not really a fan of the show (never saw it,) but the details are incredible. Good work!

You should check it out. It’s pretty good :)

Beautiful art work @vaansteam love the passion u put into this drawing

Wow! So amazing!! How to draw like that

I learned through practice:)

Great drawing

Thank you!

fantastic drawing!

Thank you!

your biggest opponent will always be yourself. That is why the best way to overcome yourself is to challenge yourself!

My competition is me Thank you for that :)

wow beautiful woman, like an angel in heaven @vaansteam

yes she is an angel

Great art. Resteem and Upvote @vaansteam.

I really appreciate that @phogyan

This is amazing, love the way her detail was brought to life even more in the last 2 pictures.
Perfect work of art. Upvoted and Resteemed

I enjoyed working on it. Thank you

I wish, if i can draw like you. You've done really well. I can see that, how hard you've tried, spending eight hours on that wonderful work and sharing the steps is really appreciable. And finally, you got your point, you enjoyed it. This is the most important things a artist does need. As a well wisher or like a friend i would like to say, try to focus on Light & Shadow.
Thank you @vaansteam

Thank you for your word s of encouragement it means a lot! I will try to focus more on that :)

nice art

Thank you

awesome work! well done with the different shadow and lights effects. I really like the balance of black, white and grey - fits perfectly as well as you managed to create a great plasticity. keep on drawing, very admirable!

Thank you so much for your compliment

nice art work.... :D

Thank you!

Thanks for showing all the steps--that is a lovely creation. You are so talened.

Your welcome! Thank you the compliment. Means a lot! :)

Great drawing! I wish I could draw like this :p

Nothing is impossible:)

i am yournew follower.jpg

Very impressive art you making !
See you around ! :-)

Thank you for following I shall do the same! I’ll see you around!

You draw great! I like what you do.

Thank you! Glad you like them!

wow great art

Thank very much

It is such a wonderful masterpiece! You make me wow all the time @vaansteam!

I'm happy that you like my work. Thank you for the great support!

Always liking your works. I am actually inspired by you in terms of art portraits but I still need to learn more. Haha. I am really far from reality. Hope to see more tutorials from you @vaansteam.

My first ever post on steemit that im going to resteem. Wonderful plate form for talented people like @vaansteam

Oh wow! I am honor. Thank you for that!

You are welcome

So rude and amazing!

Thank you!

Beautiful, just beautiful, impressive attention to detail too, i really hope i see more of your drawings, you have quite the talent

I appreciate that and I will post more :)

You're welcome my friend, thanks for the upvote

Very interesting...

Thanks

Hopefully we can be good, I am happy to be friends with you

Hi, I just followed you :-)
Follow back and we can help each other succeed!

You are very kind, happy to be friends with you

I see, read and enjoy your nice post innovative add knowledge, thank you for sharing.

Thank you for your compliment!

LOVE IT!

I'm glad you love them

Wow!! Wow!! What a great art... How I wish to have a great talent like that ... A gift from God...

I got a little talent thru hard work and god too :D

Keep up... And God bless

Nice!! I've been enjoying your posts!!

Glad you enjoy it.

excellent post, I love your work really seems to me of very good content, keep it up, congratulations I always follow your work

You're awesome! Thank you for the support!

Fine drawing of her! I'm interested in charcoal lately. I had no idea they had 4B, etc. of that in addition to graphite. What kind of fixative do you use?

Yes I had a whole set. They have all kind. I didn’t used any ficative.

I'm interested in alternatives to fixatives myself. Is there a certain type of sheet or something that you use to keep it from smudging?

The drawing looks real... Keep it up my friend

I will thank you, friend!

wow, really nice work, i used to draw/paint alot when i had the time, right now work more than i sleep lol, but i sure wish i could have reached this level of awesomeness, really an amazing piece you got there, keep it up!

Thank you so much. I'm sure you can do it too. Nothing is impossible!

You have some great art skills

Thank you I'll try my best :)

excelente trabajo amigo. me encanta.

Thank you!

I wish I could sketch like that! You are brilliant at the fabric folds. Who is she? (I'm going to look her up....)We had a big beautiful bright green iguana in our garden this morning - he would have been perfect on her lap :)

Ah - I just checked her out - learned something new! Never heard of her but you've drawn a beautiful likeness...very nice.

Thank you very much @handmaiden! Yes it’s also a great tv series. You should check it out :)

There are 4 pages
Pages