Realism Art - How to Draw a 3D Object

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1999.jpg

Hey everyone Vaan here. Today I'm going be teaching you some really basic realism drawing of a 3D glass. The thing is with realism as long as you do the correct points which I'm going to go over today it's a lot easier than what it seems.

IMG_1968.jpg

The first thing we're gonna do is proportions. There's this saying in art and that draws how it seems not how it is. Basically, our brains are really good at filling in the blank. So if you see a face, for example, you're going to want to draw it. You know head-on but if you're doing realism that's not necessarily how the head looks. You know it has all these turns and twists and shadows and highlights.

IMG_1980.jpg

Step number 2 for the realism side and that is adding pure white highlight. Notice I'm using grey paper instead of like the traditional white and the reason for that is so I like pull out the white highlights. The reason you want to have white and black values in your drawing and everything in between is that's kind of how life is. You know life isn't just two colors two or two shadows. It has black white and everything in between. Always remember to build up your value and shadows and highlights and include everything in between.

IMG_1985.jpg

The next step is adding in your mid-tones. For those of you who might not know what mid-tones are, they are all the values in between black and white. The thing with mid-tones is a bunch of values, but how you get them is by creating them softly and building them up. What that means is, when you're adding mid tones is you want to add some shadows in there and add some highlights to get it all 3-dimensional looking. I'm a 2b charcoal pencil. It's not pure black, it's not pure white it's just a nice in-between and it's really easily blendable. I'm darkening that mid-tone to give it more depth and make it look more 3D and more like a real object.

IMG_1988.jpg

Once I'm done I'm going in to blend. I personally use Roney blending sticks for blending. What I do is I blend out everything that way it will look like an actual shadow and it can look realistic and smooth and give it some texture. I get a white colored pencil and just kind of go over it and that wax from the white colored pencil will spread out the pigment and it will give you a more smooth transition. The next step is adding these little extra shadows and lines and little reflections and things that really bring it to the next level and it'll kind of trick the mind to almost automatically recognizing that it's an object as opposed to a drawing.

IMG_1989.jpg

The last step is casting a soft shadow. It's really important to have a shadow on your drawing and the reason for that is because when the mind looks at an image that has a shadow. The brain automatically assumes that it's 3D and so it gives the illusion that it's an object rather than a two-dimensional piece of paper. That's basically it. I hope you found it useful. Thank you, everyone!



Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

That is really impressive! Thank you for the tutorial ;)
(Upvoted and followed)

Your welcome :)

If I drew like this guy I wouldn't greet people lol just kidding but this is really impressive

wow esta super fantastico

gracias @drumany

tratare de hacer uno espero pueda quedar igual a tu dibujo, saludos
@vaansteam

Buenisimo!!

Wow you made it so amazing and perfect....it's so realistic thanks for giving the step by step instructions.

Thank you for the compliment

How amazing ! Maybe I shall give this a try :)

Impressive! I'll just do my hands down to you bro such amazing talent of you has to be respected, for I, also an artist in different way i was able to try liked what u did, then i just realized that i'm not as good as yours, anayways i'm just good on design and creativity of making something old thing to a new one my artwork has been display in my previous school. I consider my self as a frustrated artist... So thanks, for your works, for i was able to reminnisced the hobby and my artworks im doing in the past.

Thank you for taking your time to comment. That’s really nice of you. I’m sure you’re also good. Keep going my friend!

Awesome work of art, very realistic painting

Thank you. Really appreciate that.

I like your paintings, You are very talented artist

Dude, you are one of the best artists/bloggers I have ever seen. I really, truly mean it. Awesome drawing! Bravo!

Thank you so much 😊

You're welcome!

As it is all brother vaansteam, very good explanation, I will take it into account for my drawings, thank you!

Thank you very much

Great job! I wish i also got a talent like yours. Keep posting such good work of art.

Thank you so much

very nice the way u explained how to draw in 3 D so simply....Thanks mate

I’m glad it was simple to understand

Great!!! Realistic drawing requires persistence and a lot of practice, it shows that you are fine in both.

Thank you. I practice everyday :)

i can't believe it too perfect i never seen perfect painting like this you have great talent thanks for sharing step by step process .

That really means alot thank you

amazing.....its just look like a real one....and u also showed very clearly....thank u so much for sharing with us....now i will try to do it

Good luck to you. Hope it turn out real nice!

i hope so....really nice of u

That is soo cool! thanks so much for sharing :) you are very talented xx

Thank you for the compliment! Have a wonderful day!

thank you follow me

Your welcome Thank you!

Hey there! Just ran into you by the kindness of @faithfulomoy ! Need to give some love to him for the deed! Your drawing is cool, I wish I had those grey papers, I'm going to try to find some over here and start practicing again. Cheers, you have an amazing blog. Nice to meet you!

I'll take advantage of this opportunity and tag my bro's @davvas and @javiervasquez, I'm sure you'll get two more followers to your art in a bit! Thanks for taking the time to make something good for us to share and learn. Have a great weekend you all.

Thank you for dropping by. Very nice to meet you. I really appreciate the support!

Hello! I am very glad to get acquainted with the artist! Subscribe to your blog.
I have a question, do you do 3-D graphics from nature, or are you redrawing the photo?

Thank you for your comment. For this one I redraw from a photo

It's quite easy to make a copy from a photo. And you tried to draw from nature, such as a still life, in which there are several objects? Is it possible to do this in 3D?

Wow this is amazing!!! thanks for this post bro @vaansteam you are one of a kind

Thank for your your nice compliment

I thought it was a real cup! It's a wonderful talent!

Thank you 😊

How this is amazing. Let me go through those steps again 🙌

Yeah please tell me how it goes :)

Hey man u are gifted in the act of creativity, I love Wat u drew, it very nice, looking out for more from you man.

Thank you, really appreciate that.

Wow, that's really cool.

Thanm you! :)

Amazingly done my friend. Big respect :)

Thank you so much!

you make it look so easy when doing this, but somehow i fell if i going to try it will look more something like this
glass.jpg

Lol the drawing is actually pretty nice!

yeah "right"

Hi man, i like it, you are verry talented. My best wishes for you!!!

Thank you. Best wishes to you well!

You really are good at making a realism artwork. Keep it up the good work! 😃😃😁

I think you are just fooling the people, @vaansteam! Actually you just put real glass on the surface of the paper and photographed it! ; )))

Ahaha I’ll take that as a compliment! Thank you! 😆

Wow. It looks so real! You are so talented. 😊

Hello @wincee long time no see. Hope you’re doing well! 😀

I was not so active with steemit lately. I just find time to post some blogs but I don't have time to browse so often. I am glad you still remember me. :)

Of course, I remember you. Same I haven't been on as much. Good to see you again.

Wow it really looks like real, you are very talented. I wish i can draw like you!

I’m sure you can too. Just some practice:)

Wow so realistic drawing. I love it.

Glad you like it !

Yeah I'm a drawer too..

Wow awesome, very realistic, greetings @vaansteam

Thank you, greetings

Wow, so nice and creative..... There is no difference between between Real glass and the drawing.... Maybe I'll start drawing too... Lol!!

Yeah you should give it a try :)

wow great tutorial sir, if you continue about drawing then we are also expert. thanks for share such a useful post.

Anyone can be expert. Good luck 👍

wow its awesome 3D art

Thank you

Ecxelente trabajo, nunca he dibujado criltal, gracias a tu post intentaré hacerlo, muchas gracias. :-)

Gracias! Have a nice day!

(゚▽゚) I love your drawing~ nice work👍

Thank you so much 😊

Whoah! Very cool tutorial, and great drawing :)

Thank you. Glad you think so!

Just woww!! Love your work👍

I'm really glad you love it

woah! definitely, looks real! should admit, it caught my interest. will absolutely try this one. :)

Thanks, hope you got a chance to give it a try. :)

It looks like a cup is on top of the paper! You art keeps on amazing me!

Thanks for the compliment. Means a lot!

Wow im really impressed infact so impressed this work of art is so realistic and because of you im begining to think ofy long forgotten talents of arts (drawing).
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful content i have already followed you before so ill just resteem this post .

Thank you. I appreciate the support.

Wow! it's amazing!

Thank you!

It nice I love your write up and I give my upvote

Thank you I’ll do the same

There are 2 pages
Pages