Self Portrait - Realistic Drawing Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1668x.jpg

How's it going everyone, today I'm going to do something a bit different, that's a portrait drawing of myself.

IMG_1628.jpg

Having an outline of a portrait using a pencil. Firstly I'm using a 2b and charcoal pencil to start, the main thing I focus on is realistically rendering which involves creating textures and shades.

IMG_1633.jpg

So I usually jump right into drawing what would be the most challenging part of the drawing for some people which is the eyes sometimes I start in different places it just really depends but when it comes to realistic drawings get in the eyes accurate is essential in making it look like the person you are drawing. There is a lot of shadow around the eye and just around the eyelid so as I'm texturing the eye I'm taking that into consideration also I sharpen the pencil as much as I can it makes it so much easier to create details in the work when the pencil is at a sharp point. On one side of the face, it seems to get darker there is more of a shadow. I just apply more pressure that gets darker results. I eventually worked my way down to the lower section of the face and begin working on the lips. With the lips, I try to recognize the texture I have to create. Usually, lips involve small creases and smooth vertical lines. As the two lips meet I emphasize that by making a line a lot more bolder and darker.

IMG_1638.jpg

I'm using charcoal and blending sticks to create all of these turns and different shades. I just do this by controlling the amount of pressure I apply to the paper. I change the motion of the pencil to hint that some texture like around the bottom of the lips. For example, you can see how it separates itself from the rest of the face. I want to also mention the direction of the pencil strokes a lot of the time the direction that you're shaded and the pencil is going in can help show the form of the subject.

IMG_1640.jpg

When you draw hairs, you need to focus on the highlights, it's small additions like this that help gives that realistic appearance rather than it being all one solid shade. So you have to have some highlights than various pencil strokes in different directions. I'm going to sketch this part in around the neck and they do gradually get darker the closer I get to the shadow. I'm just looking at where we see shadows and the darker lines and then going over them and drawing them.

IMG_1645.jpg

In term of drawing the blazer. I will just be looking at creating the details and the texture of the blazer and that's pretty straightforward. It's just a case of creating with the pencil and looking at the lighter and darker areas. Firstly I'm going to do is I'm going to outline the edge of the blazer.

IMG_1680.jpg

There we go that is how to realistically render a portrait. I hope you enjoyed this, please leave a comment below. It really does let me be more creative. Thank you, everyone!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

a perfect self-portrait, so that with the picture we can see the character and nature of a person. From that painting my view towards you is your person is very confident it is visible from your position, insightful visible from the direction of your face, like the challenge that looks from the location of your hand and dare to try new things that look from the experiments painting image of yourself. thank you @vaansteam

@rickygunawan Thank you for your awesome compliment, my friend! I do still need a lot of improvement.

Good Job!!!

Thank you so much @mysupport

That is a great Job !!!!!

Creative,imaginative and realistic drawing are some of the most difficult drawing technique one can embark on, it takes highly level of creativeness and intuition to do this. Precision, resemblance and accuracy are of utmost importance. This goes to say that for you to have been able to do this and do it well, you got all those qualities I stated above. The drawing is just awesome.
You really got the skill, I say a big kudos. This simply distinguishes you from and ordinary artist and a professional artist.
You are a professional @vaansteam
Nice post

@cyprianj WOw thank you so much for your compliment! But I think I need to improve. And I'm getting better by day!

Wow, you have a whole lot more talent at art than I do..... I can barely draw a line, and when I do it sure isn't straight.

Wish I had those skills!!!

I love it. The portrait has some painting like qualities, thanks to the good use of the blending stick and white crayon, I suppose.

Btw, I see the white crayon in the 3rd image (and it's effects on the drawed face), but not in the description. That white color gives a nice pop, although in the final picture, not as stark as on that 3rd image (which I liked). Nonetheless, great work!

@wujekdobrarada Thanks for noticing. Yes, white really does give it a pop. But unfortunately for the lighting I can't show the true color

That's a fair point. What paper do You use? That's a nice color for black and white drawings.

wow this is a really good portrait. Also very handsome :) great work my friend.

@skullangs lol I didn't think I was handsome thought but thank you, my friend! :)

If you want to draw truth, start with the Eyeeeezzzzz!

@palikari123 The eyes is the window to the soul

no words to describe!
just SUPER!
how long did it take to study painting for you?

@taliakerch That's really nice of you!. It took me about 2hrs

It is really realistic. That’s you in the portrait. How much did it take to finish it? Have you pictured this from a photo or something? Is it possible to show us the original one?

And yes. Enjoyed it very much. Thank you for sharing this creative work with us.

This guy tried tried bringing out something about himself..and he succeeded
Its a pleasure commenting here

@hopsy Thank you so much! Really nice of you!

@gokhan83kurt It took me about 2hrs, This is from my photoshoot I did. Thank you so much for the support!

I dont only like your arts work but also your personality, you are good at what you do with perfections.

@jamespower Thank you so much, my friend!

hhey how its possible 😱😱
i can't belive really you are a good artist. well don..

very nice render! You've got the smudge stick technique down pat :D

I see you're also an artist very nice!. Hoping to see more of your work!

Thanks! There will be lots.. haha :D

Nice work @vaansteam dont forget vote my post

Wow! That was good

@jlordc Thanks again!

I wonder how many ladies would have bowed for this handsome guy...nice portrait boss

@hopsy Not a lot haha but thank you!

gosh you are talented.
draw me please.
lol.

haha thank you @chiama

This is very clean work. Great job.
Thank you for posting the steps.
This really helps us learn how to get better at realism/portraits.

i do a lot of art but stay far away from portraits. this motivates me.
Cheers! I'll be following you to make sure i can see you progress!

@indiidesign I'm glad I was able to motivate you. Thanks again

A sensitive and observant self portrait!

I like that thank you!

I have only one word for the drawing - "WOW" lol

Thank you!! lol

Shared with a few visual artist friends on other platforms. Good work!

@monadnock Thank you so much!

Definitely enjoyed your post and got amazed at the nice drawing! Hope you draw me someday :)

@sujisyndrome I will soon ahaha Thanks again!

You're multi talented! That pencil sketch looks so realistic especially the eyes. Love the texture!

You too! You can write a really good article and you sing really well!

Here you go again my friend, excellent work congratulations for that talent, i hope to see more.

I will post more thanks again for the support!

eh its awesome. i more like u to add a white dot on ur right eyes to make it brighter.

I tried that It didn't look right because of the lighting

yea i see

Hi, I'm here new, I like your blog, I hope for reciprocity and invite you to my profile

Yes, I will thank for dropping by!

Thank you for sharing your step by step technique's to produce your self-portrait. Really amazing!

You're very welcome glad you like it!

Nice work, Vaan. You have considerable talent.

@prydefoltz Thank you so much for your kind word!

Nice work. It's hard to draw a perfect photo of one's self.

Thank you yeah it's a harder I rarely draw myself

Your drawing is good.

Thank you

Unique in its own way. Love it

Thank you so much!

really expressive ! were you cold or something, holding like that your vest ? ;-)

Yeah I was a bit cool ahaha

amazing drawing! you are very talented. thank you for sharing :)

Thank you for your awesome comment!

wow, congratulations! you are really talented, i just saw your post, and trust me that i consider myself an admiror of your work. Really amazing drawings, they just look so natural, as if your soul was just drawn there.

Thank you so much, I will appreciate that. You have blessed day friend!

Hello @ vaansteam. Excellent ability I do scribbles, but they served me in my biology classes (I'm a teacher). Congratulations. Ah I do not speak English but I help with the translators. I'm new to steemit but here I go. I follow you and invite you to check my blog. A greeting from the plain Venezuelan apureño.

wow thank you so much for, I will check out your blog :)

:O dibujas muy bien, el uso de las sombras y brillo del dibujo lo hace excelente!

Looks great and I love how you described your walkthrough. Inspired me to work on a self-portrait this evening. Thanks.

@camdow I'm glad I was able to inspire you :)

Thats fucking SICKO!

@movingman Thank you so much! appreciate that!

You are so talented! I wish I can draw half as good as you! Thanks for sharing!

@linlee888 Thank you so much!. You probably better than me in other things!

I’m still trying to figure out! 😅😊

WOOW!! Very very cool!

Thank you!

Dear Artist @vaansteam ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

@fineartnow Thank you very much! Happy to be in the fine art community

Wow.... just wow!
I love it!

@knusperkeks Really nice of you!

nice, elegant drawing, congrats my friend, upvote .

@jacobkaled Thank you, my friend!

Nice portrait! Really like the commentary on what you're trying to do in each step as well

@nicolexu1337 Thank you. That's really motivate me to keep doing it!

There are 2 pages
Pages