Eye don't know what eye am doing with oils

in #art6 years ago

So, a few days ago, I resteemed the work of the incredibly talented @davidcheifetz:

https://steemit.com/art/@davidcheifetz/i-live-with-the-fae-11x14-oil-on-panel-painting-process-and-thoughts

His piece inspired me to try oils again, after an extremely long hiatus. I ALSO had to try because the talented @leoplaw in so many words, dared me to. Hahaha.

I've always been more of an acrylic and watercolor painter, @ghostfish is the one who introduced me to the magic of oil paints in his surrealist and beautiful work.

Here is the result of this afternoon's quick study... the classic lover's eye:

IMG_7002.JPG

IMG_7003.JPG

IMG_7005.JPG

I know I could certainly use more practice, but at least I gave it a try and will continue to experiment with this medium.

Thank you for looking!

©Ivy S. 2018

Sort:  

Eye

think yew do

heheheheh eye barely am figuring this out but thank yewww

I have yet to try oils. I feel intimidated. Nice eye though. ~Cheers

Cheers! You're already good at painting, from what I see. I think you would be successful at oils. I was intimidated at first, but I like how easy it is to do shading. I think you would like it! It does require a ton of patience. One also requires good ventilation when painting with oils, which is near impossible in our northerly climes... I got a bit of a headache when I was cleaning my brushes with turpenoid. (I see you are in Montana!)

Yes Montana gets quite cold so good ventilation will be more accessible in the spring. I've killed enough brain cells without huffing paint. ;)

AHHAHAHAH SAME. I'm in Minnesota, so really, on the same boat with the cold weather shit. ;______;

Also, THANK YOU!

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

handcrafted in very cool wood and very much like 100% thumb eye @velveteendream

Thank you! So kind of you.