How to start a Chinese traditional painting. Materials and tools

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello dears!

If you want to start painting in the technique of traditional Chinese painting, you will need special materials and tools. I've reviewed it. All materials I buy in specialized online stores, because in the usual stores for artists often do not have the right materials.

My materials

  • felt mat
  • rice paper
  • brushes
  • Chinese ink
  • Chinese mineral paints
  • Chinese mineral paints
  • napkins
  • palette and glass of water

1. Felt mat

Felt Mat is always put on the table under the rice paper because the drawing paper is very thin. The paper gets wet from water, and the felt mat absorbs excess water.

2. Chinese ink

Chinese ink is in liquid form or dry sticks. I use liquid ink. It's easier to dilute with water.

I use liquid ink. It's easier to dilute with water. Dry ink sticks have a more traditional material. It looks like this.

Stick ink rubbed in a special stone palette with a few drops of water. Dry ink is ground with an effort. This ink is well suited when many shades of gray are required.

3. Chinese mineral paints

The most famous paint – a paint company Maries. On their box there is a picture with horses.

Recently began to appear, and other Chinese paints . Now, for example, I use these:

Chinese mineral paint is not a watercolor! They are different in their properties. They are diluted with water, but do not spread in multi-layered painting, as watercolor spreads.

As you can see, the color scheme for a set of 12 colors is peculiar. The green color in the palette is one, and is represented by a whitened emerald. All other green shades in the pictures are obtained by mixing yellow, black and blue on the palette.

In the box most of the reddish tones. The fastest way is usually yellow. The most unused color is black because it is replaced by black ink. Also in the box of Chinese paints there is always a white color, which is used as intensively as yellow.

4. Rice paper

Rice paper is sold in rolls or in separate sheets. In rolls cheaper. I like rice paper in rolls, because it does not crumple and is compact stored. I am convinced that it is necessary to start learning to draw on cheap rice paper, because many unsuccessful drawings will have to be thrown away.

If there are no scissors at hand, then you can cut the paper in the following way: hold with a wet brush and tear it wet.

Rice paper sometimes has two sides: one is rough, the other is smooth. The choice of hand depends on the plot. On a rough surface paint and ink spread better. This is suitable, for example, for the image of animal hair. The smooth side is suitable for drawings with clear contours.

Rice paper sometimes has two sides: one is rough, the other is smooth. The choice of hand depends on the plot. On a rough surface paint and ink spread better. This is suitable, for example, for the image of animal hair. The smooth side is suitable for drawings with clear contours.

**Paper in sheets

Paper in sheets is more expensive and professional paper. It can be of different quality, purpose (for example, landscape), as well as different shades.

This paper can be with the addition of gold foil or herbal fiber.

Gongbi paper is a special kind of paper for painting in the style of Gongbi. This paper is the thinnest and most transparent. This paper is impregnated with alum, so it does not absorb ink and paint. This paper is designed for multi-layer color fills.

5. ** Brushes**

Chinese brush conveniently stored in these bamboo canisters:

I have a lot of brushes. Some were brought from China, some were bought in art stores.

New brushes are glued with glue. They're sharp and hard. Quality brushes can be checked only after purchase, when I soaked the glue. Often this is a lottery, so it is better to buy brushes in specialized places where the seller knows about the quality of the brushes.

Brushes can be divided into 4 conditional groups:

  • soft
  • medium hardness
  • hard brushes
  • thin outline.

A soft brush.

Soft brushes are white and made of goat hair. They are designed to draw soft, round shapes.

Brush of medium hardness.

Brushes of medium hardness are made of wolf, badger, bear hair. These brushes are more elastic. I draw with them mountains, trees, thin blades of grass and branches.

Hard brushes.
Hard brushes are made of tough animal fur. They do not have gun hair, so these brushes do not hold water well. I use these brushes when I paint the texture of mountains and stones.

Thin counter-brushes.

Thin counter brushes are designed for very thin lines, stroke, stamens, etc.

6. Napkins

Napkins that absorb excess water from the brush-a necessary material in Chinese painting.

7. Palette and other accessories

I use a ceramic palette or plates. It's better than plastic.

In the photo you can also see the stand for the brush, which I also use as a press for rice paper. This is often necessary because the paper is not fixed and can be wrapped around corners.

Spherical ceramic container is a water dispenser. With it, you can add the required number of drops in the ink.

8. Stamps

In Chinese paintings, in addition to the lyrical signature characters, decided to put down personal stamps of the artist. They complement the composition, so everyone who is engaged in Chinese painting, sooner or later puzzled by the search for seals.

Procurement of stamps you can buy in stores. But the cut impression will have to be ordered from the master.

The seal is stamped with red cinnabar paste.

At the end of the article, I want to warn you against buying ready-made calligraphy kits, which are quite often found in art stores. These sets are souvenir: they look nice, but it is impossible to use them for their intended purpose.

Thanks for your support and comments!

@veta-less

SB_new.png

#esteemapp
#adsactly

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I'm surprised to learn that there are specific materials for traditional Chinese painting. From the paint to the paper that is very unique.
Thank you for sharing this side of Chinese art. I'd love to see your work with these materials.

@watersnake101 Thank you very much for your comment! Yes, I myself did not know about these special materials, until I began to engage in Chinese traditional painting. I think that many artists who are engaged in traditional painting do not know about it, it's normal)

Looking forward to your work. Cheers!

кул бэби!

Thank you for another great lesson @veta-less :)

@jungwatercolor I'm so glad you liked it! :)
thanks for the repost! ♥

No need to thank me, I went back to read it again, now I will order some paper and mineral colors :) Ink and brushes I already have. Also, that part with describing sorts of papers I am thankful the most @veta-less :)

@jungwatercolor I wrote the second part about the design work on rice paper. If you're going to try to draw on rice paper, then come see how it then draw)

@jungwatercolor Oh, I'm happy that my post inspired you! I hurry to write the next post about the design work on the rice paper! This is also very important )

Amazing post! This will surely come in handy when I'm buying for art supplies :D.          
         
What a beautiful and comprehensive post <3.          
         
-upvoted-          

@scrawly I am glad that you liked it and I will be happy if it is useful when you go to the store :) many people say that they want to try to draw on rice paper)) Аnd the brushes are also suitable for watercolor.

Congratulations @veta-less! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The rice papers are very delicate I am not sure I can paint on them. I probably ruin a whole role before I could paint something decent 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Therefore, it is better to try to draw on cheap rice paper))) And not afraid ) But spoiled paper very much )))

Really interesting the difference between that and other kinds of painting - didn’t realize it was so different from watercolor.

Yes, there are differences, but only those who are engaged in Chinese painting know about this. Chinese mineral paints are not washed away with water after drying. They can be applied in several layers. If you draw with watercolor paints on rice paper, and then begin to glue your drawing (this is a necessary stage of registration with the help of glue and the second layer of paper), the picture blurs

Congratulations @veta-less! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

I had a Chinese friend while attending secondary school. She was an exceptional artist and used the traditional .method with materials that were sent to her by her family in China. The paper is so fine and I think this takes a lot of patience to learn...

SB_new.png

It's great how you had such a friend :) I hope she became a cool artist)

I have lost track of her over the years...

Wow! I'm sending the link to this post to my youngest - she's wicked into art, and she's gonna love all this information. Thanks for putting all this together, and congrats on the #steemitbloggers Member Boost!


via GIPHY

I am happy that my post can be useful! I tried to collect and write about everything)

You did an excellent job, @veta-less!

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Very interesting!
Wanna read more ❤️
Upvoted

hanks a lot :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Loved the detailed descriptions of all the materials. I'm a paper nerd myself, and love working with rice paper. The texture is so unique compared to most papers. I look forward to seeing more of your process in future posts!

Wow, do you draw on rice paper or use it in some other way?

I like to make books. I don't write them, or at least not yet, but I love the process of selecting paper and cover materials, using interesting things to bind the book together, and experimenting with different styles of bindings. Rice paper makes great end papers for the interior of the covers. It holds a rich color when dyed, and brings that really neat texture. It's also quite thin, so it lends itself well to more delicate works.

I haven't made a book in ages, but when I get back to it I plan to blog about that too.

Very descriptive post, @veta-less ! Great details on all the materials !

Thank you very much! I tried not to forget anything.)))

Didn't know there were different kinds of water colour
I like that ceramic paint palette.. gotta look for it :)

Yes, ceramic palettes are very cool! I met them most often in the store for Chinese painting)

I will go on a hunt
Thank you for the tip 😊

This is all really interesting. I had no idea about Chinese painting, and to have it explained so well. Thanks for this. Are you planning on posting any of your art?

Hi! I publish here my works in Chinese painting...But now I do it rarely, as attracted to other materials and techniques. Here, my works

or

GREAT JOB! I really enjoyed this post.. I accidentally ended up on your post for the Dead Sea...really great one.. I did not realize it was 4 monhs ago.. oh well voted on it anyway.

Thank you very much! I'm sorry you haven't noticed that my post about the Dead sea is too old...

My #drawingqueen is very excited to see all this and asking me to bring stuff..which i doubt availabls in India

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't even know if these materials are available in India. But in any case, there are online stores where you can try to buy it

Hmm that would be gteat option considering we get free shipping

Posted using Partiko Android

Very informative...you've made me want to get up, and do something creative.
Re-steemed with pleasure.

Ahahah, I would be glad if my post inspired you to create ))) Thank you!

You are so knowledgeable in all these. I am a Chinese myself and still many that I am not aware of. Thank you for spreading this knowledge to all of us.

#steemitbloggers

It's nice to meet you! My teacher was Chinese and I was passionate about China and Chinese painting for many years. I wish we could go to China...This is an amazing country, which I know only from photographs and paintings.

And I am Chinese from Malaysia. Never been to China eventhough we are told our ancestors are from there. :) you are amazing.

Очень интересный пост! Спасибо что поделились:)

Пожалуйста :)

Congratulations @veta-less! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is a wonderfully detailed explanation of your materials. Thank you for sharing this great information!

thank you very much!

Wow! You did a great job!

thank you!