Peonies in traditional Chinese technique + step by step process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends! Now the summer and the peonies are in bloom. At least in my city :) I'll show you how to paint peonies in the technique of traditional Chinese painting.

Materials:

  • rice paper;
  • Chinese black ink;
  • brushes;
  • Chinese mineral paints;
  • felt mat;
  • napkin for blurring the brush.

To paint buds I will be an elastic dark brush. For the leaves I will use a softer white brush.

Tone color transition on the petals is created at the time of painting. I fill the brush with the primary color, and I lower the tip of the brush into a darker paint.

I do not sketch. I start to paint from the petals. Apply the darker tip of the brush to where the base of the petal will be.

I paint the flower in separate strokes, step by step. Look at the flower. Each petal I begin to paint next to the other, but do not leave large free places. I left the middle of the flower empty. There will be a core and stamens.

I paint the next flower in yellow color. This is how the paint brush looks. The entire brush is filled in yellow, the orange color on the end.

I paint the yellow peony in the same way. Next to me I paint an unopened bud. For a closed bud, the dark tip of the brush is applied not to the base, but to the beginning of the petals.

Then I paint the leaves. Leaves for pions are painted with free strokes. The color of the leaves in Chinese painting is often black, gray or gray-green, so as not to distract viewers from bright beautiful flowers.

By the way, there are no green colors in the Chinese palettes of colors. There is only a color that is now called "mint". To get green shades of colors I mix yellow, black and blue colors.

The most intense and dark leaves are near peonies. It brightens to the bud. I painted a few dark leaves in the upper left corner, and lighter leaves in the background.

Chinese painting depicts nature. Peony flowers are always depicted growing on a bush. Therefore, we finish the branches, buds and veins on the leaves. Draw a heart of flowers and stamens.

Butterflies or bees give the picture dynamism. I put on a butterfly that flies to the flowers.

To smooth the work, I moistened it with water.

And smoothed the picture, pasting an additional layer of paper on the back.

The picture is ready!

Cheers

@veta-less

Thanks for reading and for your support!


@steemitbloggers

#creative

#drawing

#painting

Sort:  

beautyful flower

I'm glad you liked my painting :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi veta-less,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Hi @curie, thanks for your support!

I love this kind of painting! Great work!

I'm glad you liked my peonies )

Очень красивый рисунок! :)

@sweettais я рада, что понравился :)

Красота! Особенно красный мне понравится цветок!
Бумага рисовая насквозь промокает, как она не разваливается? и еще у меня вопрос чем её выпрямляют посте высыхания? )

Спасибо, мне красный, кстати, тоже больше нравится)
Бумага промокает, и с ней нужно очень аккуратно. От малейшего движения порвется...

Там целая процедура про подклейку. Самый современный способ - это второй слой бумаги с силиконовым слоем приложить с обратной стороны и утюгом прогладить. Я когда училась - мы приклеивали вторым слоем такую же рисовую бумагу с помощью клейстера и разглаживали специальными широкими кистями.

сложная технология, да... а не пробовали по обычной акварельной бумаге в этой технике работать?

Пробовала, я открытки рисую на акварельной бумаге, но на ней не все эффекты можно применить, особенно всякие размытия, которые на рисовой часто используются

Интересно... а открытки для себя, или продать удаётся?

This is a gorgeous painting! The bright reds and yellows really make it pop!

Thank you @rwedegis You're right! I was choosing colors for my work, and I thought red and yellow would make it popular.

You made the right choice!

You're really talented! Thank you for sharing this, it makes painting seem a little less frightening 😁

@tripswithtam Thank you! It's actually easy to paint)

Wooow, this painting is really superb.
You also took a step by step tutorial.
I'd make one for my self 😀

Also get a deserved curie 🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌

Thank you @stevenson7 ! It's easy. This is the first thing I started to get when I was studying Chinese painting ))

Wow congrats with the curie vote! Definitely well deserving! :)

Thank you @zord189 ! Yeah, I'm glad you liked it )

Well done @veta-less! You successfully guessed the match result.

Round 16 - Croatia vs Denmark
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

This is great, i was looking for so long someone who is doing this classic Chinese paintings, you got yourself fan here @veta-less. Waiting for more :)

I am very pleased to have such a fan as you @jungwatercolor ! ♥

This is absolutely breathtaking.

I love you technique and flowers.

Wow, you make it sound so easy! Just drawing the petals... I'm sure there was years of training and practice to be able to say that!

Waaah! I really like this painting style. It's so beautiful.

Looking good.. Keep it up! :)

Inspiring work!

Роскошная работа! Впервые слышу о минеральных красках, надо бы и себе раздобыть:)

Спасибо! Ищите там, где товары для китайской живописи продаются :) Вот так выглядит коробочка

Вообще они похожи на акварельные. Но рисовую бумагу нужно обязательно подклеивать вторым слоем для оформления и для этого мочить рисунок. Вот тогда акварель и может потечь, а минеральные краски держатся)

Wow! I painted Oriental painting perfectly. Very Good