The 'om'

in #art6 years ago

The other day I found myself in New York City. More like I took the day off of work, hopped on a two hour bus to the city, and walked around in the cold. But I like the "I found myself in New York City" much better! One of my roommates was telling me about this exhibit at the Rubin Museum of Art in Chelsea. The first thing I though of was ruben sandwich, and I was like "ehh I don't really eat meat, I don't know about that" (I sometimes think I am funny, lets move on). She was telling me about an exhibit that was up, it was called "The World is Sound." Showcasing how we can listen with our whole bodies, and how sound shapes everything we do. While she is a music major, I am a dance major. So instantly I thought we needed to go, and 2018 is to making new adventures!

As a dancer I am constantly thinking on how music is affecting my movement and how I can really tune into what is being played or completely disregard what is being heard and juxtapose what is being heard. I find myself on a daily basis going back and forward about what I want to show as an artist. It's always great to have these different perspectives because it helps broaden your view on the different aspects of performing (ie. the music or movement). As of this moment right now, I am working on how can the music move through my body, but go even deeper. I was thinking on how to explain that to someone who is not a dancer or necessarily an artist and the best words that came to my mind was "the music ignites my bones." But if anyone who knows anatomy then my brain would send signals to my muscles, which then would move my bones and other tendons.

So to get back on the topic of this adventure. How can we as humans, stop everything that we are doing, completely forget everything. I mean everything, start a blank slate, add to that blank slate then reincorporate it back into our daily lives. Yes, I know that may not make sense, but keep in mind I am not a writer. I speak with my body and movement. So I walked into the museum with a lot on my mind. Walked up to the lovely gentleman at the coat check counter, and gave him my backpack along with everything that was on my mind, and left with 2 things. My museum ticket and a red tag with a number on it, a reminder to grab my backpack and everything that was on my mind when I was ready to leave the building. With these two things I stuffed them in my back pocket and was ready to build on my blank slate.

The exhibit had many great installations! There were several different parts of it, but one that stuck out to me was one of the last parts that we visited. It was a small excluded room where you were encouraged to lie on the benches provided. Because this exhibit was about sound there were speakers all around. All playing an 'om.' This was a meditation room. But not only could you hear the 'om,' you could also feel it. Once I was lying there for about five minutes I felt like I could start to build on that blank slate I brought into the building. Taking everything in and analyzing it. Sometimes it is really easy for me to overthink things, who am I kidding I overthink everything! But I took this time to really think about how the for body is just a vessel.

A vessel that sails into unknown waters, reimagines these waters and transforms it into something new for the audience that is watching. A vessel that may sink, but is eventually recovered looking brand new. A vessel that makes a wrong turn, but nothing is a wrong turn only a new adventure.

IMG_2166.JPG

Here's the link to the exhibit if you want to check it out! http://rubinmuseum.org/events/exhibitions/the-world-is-sound
Let me know what you think! Cheers to 2018!

Sort:  

Great blog post. Makes me want to go check out that museum for myself. I am also heavily involved in music study/creation. There is some new research that supports the idea that our blood may actually be the main driving force behind all of our movements/internal workings. The theory states that our blood (not the heat) moves itself around our bodies. And it has it's own electromagnetic charge that allows it to do this. And that electromagnetic charge "feels" out the electromagnetic charge of the world around us and causes us to react the way we do (i.e. dancing, running, laughing, etc.) This only a theory at this point. But it seems like it may explain the "the music ignites my bones" statement that you made in your blog. LOL. Have a great day :)

Oh thats super interesting!