The phrase Art for Art’s Sake.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Growing up there used to always be these festivals of art called Art for Art’s Sake. Always attending but never processed the phrase Art for Art’s Sake. This wasn’t processed till the night of my high school graduation. Where Brandon "B-Mike" Odums, an alum of my school and an amazing and inspirational graffiti artist, spoke on the topic (go look him up!). This was 2 years ago when I heard him talk, so this is purely a reflection from what has a stuck with me and what I’ve learned in my fifteen years of creating art.

We don't create art just for the sake of creating art. We don't spend years of dedicating our lives, countless all nighters, and no social life just to create are for the sake of art. We create art for a change for a different voice that is sent out into the world. I was once told by a mentor that us as artists are always giving gifts and expecting nothing in return. But I have come to realize that while as an artist I am giving my talent as a gift, I am receiving the best gift anyone could ever give me. The connection to people, and the joy and happiness creating art give me. That rush of adrenaline when performing or the chills down your spine after taking class. These are moment that can never be forgotten and not come from art for art's sake. But we create art for the sake of change.

Even if you don't consider yourself an artists, go out and look at art in a different way. Explore. Open your mind. Be inspired. And most importantly live your best self!!IMG_1624.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @victoriamh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!