You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to find time to practice

in #art5 years ago

I had to learn that it was okay to spend a couple of weeks hog-wild on a subject and then change tacks. It's how my brain works. For instance, I can work on learning a language for 2, 4, maybe even 8 weeks at a time. Then, my brains starts telling me that I should really be working on this other language instead. Then, I go there for awhile. I flit like a butterfly, and I've learned that it's okay. I'm never going to get perfect results, but I'll enjoy myself as well. So, I'm only fluent in two kinds of English. Yet, I can read enough of four other languages to get the gist - or help someone else - or work on my genealogy or whatever. I had to give myself permission to be a butterfly - but I'm always learning. (And you know what? I always come back to the same flowers, so my knowledge and experience is still growing.) Being tired just means you need to take a break and refocus. :-)