You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance Of Research : A Case Study From A Standard Concept Art Pitch

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Wow this is a very nice and ultra informative post dude! And I love the outcome of this case study! Thanks for sharing. :)

Sort:  

Thank you!! Well I prefer the isometric view the finished one is..... Too messy haha I tried photo bashing and I have quite a hard time with it x)

How did you made this isometric view? I checked out this photobashing things by nick carver don't know if I did understand this xD Is it just copying and then work with the distortion tool to get the perspective? :)

Ha ok sorry, Nick Carver is Artist at Blizzard, he uses a whole array of techniques to go faster, you can check some on his Youtube channel I think.
But what I wanted to say is that he draws a bunch of assets with the same light source (or no lightsource), same perspective, on different layers. This allows him to be able to create modular environments.

It's like your mech, you can draw multiple legs, arms etc and if one day you have to draw multiple variations of a mech, you just have to get into your previous sketches, mix them up however you want it and overdraw the parts you want to change. Does it make sense ? =)

For the Isometric view it is fairly easy, draw an isometric grid and trace over it =)
to draw an isometric grid..... haha Sephiroth had a video before but I can't find it back...
But I drew a flat grid and then rotate it and flattened it 50% more or less. I put Nick's video and Sephiroth's below for you to check =D Cheers !

Oh yes it definitely makes sense! ;)
Thank you for your time and effort to explain this!! =D
So i gonna check out these videos now!

Have a nice day pal!
Cheers!

These Videos.... they are awesome!! :D