#trialbycomics - Theme "Kaiju" - Entry #2 - The Daughters of Kumonga (Full Picture + Process Animation/Pics)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Intro

The daughters of Kumonga

Hey guys,

this is my second entry for this weeks #trialbycomics contest by @kommienezuspadt.
This weeks theme is "Kaiju"

"Kaiju" (japanese (怪獣 kaijū?`) litarally means "strange beast" and in japanese tradion it could be every form of strange creature. Today this word is associated with Giant Monsters in japanese Movies like "Godzilla", "Mothra" and even in American Movies like "Pacific Rim". Most of the japanese kaiju movies are, as far as I know, made by the studio toho in tokyo, which is one of the oldest filmstudios of japan.


This is my second entry, "The daughters of Kumonga":
(Click the pictures for full resolution)


DaughtersofKumonga

Kumonga is a giant Spider which appears in a few godzilla movies, comics and video games. As I´m a little Arachnophobic this spider always creeped me out ;)

So now here are the three sisters, the daughters of Kumonga:

Sis



SisOfSis


SisOfAll


Process:

(Click Pictures for full resolution)

I did this drawing in PaitTool SAI only with the pen tool and working with layers.
The whole process took my approximately 10-12 hours.

I think the hardest and longest part for me was to set up the buildings of the city.


WIPFirstSketch

First I started with this rough sketch of the city and the spiders


WIP

Began to work out the details of the spiders and started to layout the buildings.


WIP

At first i added a tree in a garden own the lower right side of the picture.
But that didn´t really fit ;)


WIP

So i decided to make everything a little less confortable


WIP

I thought the Walls were a great place to add the steemit logo and my signature to the picture


WIP

And the rest was a hell of a lot of detailwork...


WIP

In the end I decided to add some fluffy little clouds (as Bob Ross would say) with two helikopters, because the upper Part of the Image was imho too empty and some spiderwebs for the feeling. ;)


W3Schools

And yeah, that´s it, the final outcome. :)


Hope you guys like my entry!

The #trialbycomics contest is such a great contest here on steemit.
If you don´t know #trialbycomics, here you have all the Info of this contest.

Hope u like my entry.

And now, go and check out the other entries too.
(After you gave me an upvote 😜)

Have a nice evening and steem on!

Cheers,
@w0olf

Sort:  

Good stuff, cool to see the progress

Thank you! :)

OOooooh It's you behind this pic !! Congrats for the contest man !

"some fluffy little clouds (as Bob Ross would say) " haha, I thought you went traditionnal with this picture I was wondering how you set up the camera for this gif x)
If I can say something btw, if you want to gain some time on your process, especially for the buldings' details, you can copy/paste them and overdraw them afterwards (Kitbashing, you can check Nick Carver who sketchbash for example =)) So you won't spend 10 hours on that thousand window =) cheers !

Thanks alcy! :D
Yeah in the end I copied a lot of windows.
I thought about using more helpful tools like the stabilizer, but my SAI is really buggy atm. for example everyone I click into a dropdownmenu it crashes... :/
So I tried to stick at drawing and erasing things ;) I'll check out Nick Carver.
I'm really happy you like it, because I love your entry for this week, and you're really talented!
Btw I just finished my first entry for this week's theme. ;) Hope u will have a look at it!
Cheers!

Wow! The details are incredible! I also see the steemit logo..very nice.

Thank you @vermillionfox! :D
Really means a lot to me!

You’re welcome! I look forward to seeing more from you!

Very well done! This is what came to my mind when I read the theme 'Kaiju'. A group of monsters on rampage around the city. Love the art and the details!

Thank you @ryunamist! Happy to hear that!

I like the spider on the building. He is like saying come and join me up here...i love ur work.

Haha yes! Thanks man! :)

HAHA OH MAN. Thats terrifying, and terrific at the same time! There is something so great about giant monsters destroying cities lol. I may have to try my hand at some Godzilla villains as well...

Would love to see that! ;)

Cool drawing mate ;D reminds me of that 'Eight legged freaks ' movie :D


Oh yes! Totally forgot about this movie! 😂
Thanks mate!

I have a phobia about spiders, but is an excellent job!

New art! Good

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 45.32 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @w0olf, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1274 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1676.44. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice detail. Good job ^^

Thanks! :3

wao!!! amazing and very well done. congrats man you are very talented. I am a painter and liked your Art.; I can see you user name is wolf may I have a beautiful gift for you. i have amazing painting half wolf face and the other half wolf face. so please have a llook on it now. https://steemit.com/art/@abdou1989/pencil-drawing-of-wolf-human-face#@khaled-dz/re-abdou1989-pencil-drawing-of-wolf-human-face-20171028t161748216z

WooW great work ;)

nice!
very nice
How many hours did you draw this?

Thank you! :) All in all I think about 10-12 hours.

Congratulations @w0olf! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Harika bir perspektif çizimi 👍

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.