I Spent 3,000 Hours on One Drawing

in #art5 years ago

But before I get to that, I want to congratulate you.
You're inside of one of the most valuable newsletters on the planet.

That Makes You Super Valuable.
(pats on back)

It's a fact that what you read changes your brain and your behavior.
So just a reminder...

WHEN YOU READ THESE LETTERS....
You Become An Upgraded Version of Yourself

Awesome, right?
YES!

It's True... I Spent Over 3,000 Hours on One Drawing...
...it took me over 3 years to complete.
1April-May 820.jpgSAM_3537.JPG

Here's What Happened...

It was 2016 and I had experienced quite possibly the worst break up of my life.
In fact... I had overcame some suicidal visions that...

Had I acted on, I would no longer be here.

I figured that if I could create a plan for my death, follow it fully and execute THAT.
I Could Accomplish Anything I Wanted.

So I made my real life vision, I decided that was far better than ending my life.
I could make it so good, I would laugh one day about this.

Anyway... I packed my stuff, quit my job and moved to Denver where I initiated the thumbnail.
(My book needed a cover)

The thumbnails and studies were all the drawing I did in 2016.
I spent the majority of my time studying my online marketing machine.
(I even tried to rid myself of sleep)

IT DIDN'T WORK BTW haha
But that's what happens when you love what you do.
SAM_3558.JPG
When I moved back to Idaho I began my full size studies.
I made two MASSIVE drawings.
111HyperAnger.jpg
111SexualPower.jpg

And two insane things happened.

  1. I became conscious of how we turn anger into positive out put
  2. I became hyper aware of how energy becomes things

I spent at least one year alone on these studies and breaking my book apart.
I put it on my walls, on the whiteboard...
Anywhere But Leaving It In My Head

I had vivid dreams every single night.
You could say I wrote my book in my sleep and it would be accurate.

I was writing my book from the drawings.
Drawing is the psyche in physical form, they spoke to me.

I tap danced from my bed in the morning and I wouldn't waste one second getting to work.
And I Didn't Stop Until 6am The Next Day

This went on nearly everyday for 6 months.

The next year and a half I lived in Boise, where I would finally publish
and complete my final drawing.

I remember putting the final marks down and thinking...
"I can't anymore. I have to call it complete."

I Literally Couldn't Do It Anymore
To this day... it's still incomplete because...

I Myself Am Incomplete.
...A Work In Progress, Something that Will Never Truly Be Complete Until Death

A true work of art... Just Like You.

Like My Masterpiece...
You still have work to be done.

You must be created with zeal, love, urgency and most of all....
COMMITMENT TO YOUR FULL POTENTIAL

We Don't Settle In Here, We THRIVE
We GROW
We BUILD
and We Surprise, Shock and AWE everyone around us.

Just Like that Drawing Does Today.
It makes people break out into tears of joy.

But Only In Person (to my knowledge)
And THAT is success.

Imagine that.

Peace.

Lion

P.S please visit davidlionfoundation.com to join the Life Mastery Daily newsletter and claim your free mini course.IMG_1251.JPGWhoa.jpg1533057531481.jpg

Sort:  

Hi wearehuman,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome! Thank you. :)

Hello @wearehuman, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hey thanks for the upvote, you're awesome :)

I'm glad to hear that you overcame that breakup and something this great came out of it. 3 years sounds like eternity in terms of creating a painting.. It absolutely looks like you spent so many hours on it. It is stunning. Everything has its exact place and the execution is spot on. I'm just surprised that you kept being motivated for so long. Many people would give up and call it finished long before it actually was finished.. I understand that you don't consider it finished either but to me it looks like it's done :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good start of the week!

The thing that got me to keep going for so long is my pure love for growth, seeing it pour out from seemingly know where... It changes life around to a degree that at a certain point stopping is not a choice anymore. Doing and being and creating becomes something you are naturally. Thanks for your comment, I appreciate you :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you! That cake looks delicious.

Congratulations @wearehuman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your story captivated me.
I find it hard to understand what I read but when I connect I not only understand it, I also feel it.
I identify with this phrase:
" So I made my real life vision, I decided that was far better than ending my life.
I could make it so good, I would laugh one day about this."
Keep it up!

Thank you Mariita, I appreciate you. :)

Hello! A pleasure ♡

The dedication, the effort, the desire to finish a project ... EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING! I admire you and I give you a lot of applause from Venezuela :)x

Thank you for your comment, feeling the love :)

ehy dear @wearehuman, it's very nice to see your work done and hear your story at the same time. a sad story, of pain, of loss, which however has turned day after day into a painting. not by chance we talk about art therapy as a tool to release emotions and find ourselves again: what do you think about that? congratulations on his art and on the curie vote

Thank you so much :) I'm open to talk about art therapy, I think it is a powerful and underestimated tool. I credit the changes in my life to the ability to squeeze myself through the drawings I've made. Let's talk and thank you again.

I think the main thing is to be satisfied with what you can achieve with your art. That is the success !! Your project of making this drawing and then this publication where you share all your experience is very valuable. I congratulate you and I hope you spend another three thousand hours reading comments about your fabulous artistic work. Kind greetings @wearehuman

You're so kind! Thank you :) I would be happy to spend three thousand hours reading comments haha

You have definitely put a lot of emotions and thought into this and it must mean so much to you. Channeling negative energy into something that it turns into a positive is a good thing and it helps one heal. many projects happen because of something that happened in ones life and good to see you channeling yours into something you love.

Thank you for stopping in and taking the time to read and comment. You're right, it does mean a lot. I'd like to use what I've learned through the journey to help others get through painful situations... that journey has been rolling for about 3 years now. I imagine you've has similar experiences, many people haven't experienced this and therefore cannot understand!