You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Best Directors - Tarantino, Spielberg & Burton (Original Pen & Ink Illustrations by J-VO)

in #art7 years ago

All good, all capturing what's unique about each director.

You have such a broad range of styles, it's really impressive. Are these all created completely digitally or did you start with pen and ink, then scan?

Sort:  

These were done with pen and ink on Bristol Board. Then I photographed them in studio. The Burton one has some soft washes built in. I took into Photoshop to crisp up the white a bit. But, yes, that is what my professor's in college used to tease me about (not having a specific style). But fortunately this gift works well for Graphic Design - especially Freelance if you want to be able to help all kinds of different people with different aesthetics achieve a successful "whatever task" - you know! Thank you for taking the time to take a look and comment! :) I appreciate your feedback!

Geez - why would they tease you about not having a "specific style?" I get the idea of producing a recognizable body of work and building a brand, but why limit yourself to just one? Times and tastes change, and I think it's great that you can be so adaptable.

Thanks for sharing part of your process with me!

You're welcome - and when I say tease - it was in good fun - they really all liked my work and were all very supportive - but so many of the other illustration majors had very obvious styles that they stuck to - which as you said did make them very identifiable - but I have always wanted to be flexible - do anything - to serve whatever mood or aesthetic I wanted to serve at any given time - and I agree with you that I think this makes a more well rounded artist that can thrive in a vast economy! Thanks for the conversation Winston - I hope you have a great evening!

Thanks for reading and best of luck in all your projects - and styles!