You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art's Key Ingredient: Vulnerability

in #art6 years ago

I, too, was ambivalent about writing when I first began (as a teenager) because I did not want to reveal my soft spots to the world, @chrismccron. Then, over time, I realized that the more vulnerable I was, the more I was likely to connect; the more intimate, the more universal...

Encouraging paradox to discover and now I think of the writer's task as standing naked in public, stripped to the soul. Unflinching witness and world mirror, through which others gaze into to see their wound & Beauty

As Edgar Allen Poe suggested, 'any (wo)man who dared to lay their heart bare, would produce a work of genius'.

Write on, man!

Sort:  

Wow. Great comment. Thanks so much for reading.

I'm happy to hear that you have arrived at a position similar to mine with writing. It's a powerful insight for sure.

And I hope Edgar Allen Poe was right! I'd like to say if the three of us hold the same position, maybe great minds think alike? ;)

Encouraged by your kindness, I offer you a peek at my own ‘heart laid bare’, my forthcoming book of original sayings (nearly 10 years in the making) https://unbound.com/books/where-epics-fail/

Cheers,
Yahia

Thank you for thinking to share that. I will have a peek at it. :)

Have yourself a wonderful day, Yahia!

Much appreciated- hope it captures your imagination 🙇🏻

Good evening, Chris ✨