You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Flight of Fancy or A Potential Reality?

in #art5 years ago

I remember being baffled, Ruth, when a journalist family friend (who doubled up as a mentor of sorts) told me to make sure to protect my art from the demands of making a living. I believe this was my second year of university and I was too passionate and idealistic to fully process what she meant... Now, I've come to think of creativity as a form of prayer, and recognize rush or straining for feeling as a form of falsifying or harming this holy activity, which is essential for my own well being (and also tied up with how I see my role in the world and what I might contribute to it).

I admire your ability to cater to both world, inner and outer, while not doing violence to either. This, too, is spiritual practice and discipline. May you continue to find the space you need to create and an audience who appreciate the fruits of your labor enough to respect the process.

Sort:  

ahhh, how I've missed your eloquence, these words are nectar to my spirit -

creativity as a form of prayer, and recognize rush or straining for feeling as a form of falsifying or harming this holy activity, which is essential for my own well being

may we all find ways to honor what's within and also our need for livelihood! I don't yet have clients to work with me the way I describe here but hope to since I'm not sure how long I can sustain the status quo.

2 quotes for you/us, this fine morning:

What are we here for
if not
to bow
sway, sing
as ripening apples
beneath
the sun's reign?

--Carlos Ramirez
(My Heart in the Matter)

If only I may grow: firmer, simpler, -- quieter, warmer.

--Dag Hammarskjold

Warmly, 'bowing, swaying, singing,' Yahia

beautiful, thank you :-)))))