Hello everyone. I'm Yardley Elbert. I create art in altered states.

in #art7 years ago

I was invited by a friend to Steemit and I'm extremely excited. So here goes...

I'm a very creative person. I've sometimes been told I'm too creative.

I create things but in a non traditional way.

As an example, below is an ink sketch I did. However there's a twist. There's something more to the picture...

I undertook this sketch whilst experiencing extreme agony. For the duration of the drawing I kept my hand hovering over a candle flame.

Can you see see now how the physical pain is represented in the picture?

All of my work includes some sort of concept to do with my life. And no piece of work ever ends. This sketch will be kept and used again somehow, perhaps in another piece of art, perhaps during a time of personal pain.

Here's the same scene, however this time it's painted under the emotion anger and without the large glass.

I concentrated for a long time before this one, bringing up every bit of red rage I could find stored in my body. I really plumbed the depths. Doing effectively has taken me a lot of practice.

Look at how the shading changes. 

This cross technique was entirely new to me. It was created by the emotion, and by the piece of art itself. In contrast, the former one was influenced more by a bodily feeling.

Here's anger and extreme agony together. I removed the wine bottle this time to make the process even quicker. The pain really was excruciating and I'm not looking to damage myself permanently.

Notice how in this one I've started to withdraw from the reality of what I'm' drawing. The reality of the scene is too much for me to process. Thin becomes thick and thick becomes thin as my brain seeks to represent reality in a different way.

I believe working like this makes me a better artist. I hope you found this interesting.

Thank you.

Sort:  

I really don't know what to say to that, but I will say,... welcome to steemit

Yes I realize it's an unusual way to work. I'm wondering if, outside of the strangeness of inflicting pain on yourself, you took anything from the way the pictures turned out differently?

Hello Yardley, welcome to Steem! :-)

I...uhhh...interesting. The good news is that we are all weird here on Steemit. Haha Welcome aboard!

Yes, it takes all sorts to make the world turn. I'll ask you what i asked the lady above: if, outside of the strangeness of inflicting pain on yourself, you took anything from the way the pictures turned out differently?

Agreed completely!
Yes, I can see that you were obviously moving much faster in order to keep the amount of pain to a minimum.

welcome to steemit.
let's enjoy this wonderful world...^^

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Welcome to SteemIt. Wow. As long as you aren't inflicting long-term damage, I guess I feel okay watching for a bit. I followed.

Welcome to steemit @yardley-elbert =) Best wishes !

Very nice

welcome to steemit