Illustrative Collages I made for "North-american Young Poetry" (Tonya Ingram) — 3rd Issue of La Caída Magazine (2017)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

2017 was an interesting year for creating, improving and growing with my collage project. I had the chance to work on something relatively new for me, which I felt like a challenge: making collage pieces out of essays, poems and stories.

This chance was given to me by the colombian web magazine "La Caída", directed by a fellow venezuelan good friend, Clared Navarro Cejas (also, a writer). She didn't gave me an actual deadline when we started with this, but tons of texts to transform into visual works. Tonight I want to share with you two of the pieces I produced for "North-american Young Poetry"; precisely not a poem, nor essay, but an article about an amazing american poet called Tonya Ingram. This article collected fragments and poems of her authorship and a little view about her life and work; sweating religion or faith, ethnicity and a violent environment.

 "I am 22 rocking the latest Lupus
Common symptoms are:
Metaphors that boost my odd-stitched kidneys,
Stunning blood cells,
Wrecking brilliance of a brain,
Steal heart,
Good skin
But most people can lead normal, active lives
With proper care
With no cure
In an open flood
Where the most sacred drowning is the girl
Who is still learning God." 

 "The twelfth
Is a rooftop
In Brooklyn
Is a bypassing thunderstorm
In Brooklyn
Is a hand-job in Brooklyn
The thirteenth
Is a rusty fence boy
Is a trap door
Is the one who will tell you,
You do not love yourself." 


If you want to read more about Tonya Ingram you can check the article here / you can find the magazine issues (mostly in spanish) in La Caída webpage revistalacaida.com/numeros     


My portfolio: instagram.com/fjordwaves



Thanks for your time to read this,
Diego Augusto Sosa,
2018


Copyright @yggdrasilrot - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Done. Thank you for the opportunity.