Christina Aguilera Her New Style

in #art6 years ago

vokoscreen-2018-03-26_21-52-26.gif
Christina Aguilera is known for her dramatic, glamorous style, but now she’s trading it in for something a little more “raw.”

The 37-year-old singer and former judge on “The Voice” is profiled in the new issue of Paper Magazine, and in it she opens up about her stripped back style transformation.
vokoscreen-2018-03-26_21-53-09.gif
“I’ve always been someone that obviously loves to experiment, loves theatrics, loves to create a storyline and play a character in a video or through stage,” Aguilera says. “I’m a performer, that’s who I am by nature.”

“But I’m at the place,” she adds, “even musically, where it’s a liberating feeling to be able to strip it all back and appreciate who you are and your raw beauty.”

Aguilera also talks about the progress she’s seen in acceptance of female stars expressing their sexuality.

“They don’t have as much backlash when they come out on the scene,” she says. “And I did. It was a very interesting and controversial time for me.”

“Either women are not sexual enough or we’re not fulfilling enough of a fantasy for you,” Aguilera recalls of her own experience coming up as a pop star, “but then if we’re overtly sexual or feeling empowered in a certain kind of way, then we’re shamed for it.”

“Madonna had to go through it in her day, and she paved the way for my generation to come up. And paying it forward, now a younger generation is coming up and I’m loving what I’m seeing,” she adds. “It’s so incredible.”