πŸ‚« Leonardo "Jack of Spades" - Digital Painting & Process

in #art β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

cards__0004_leo.png

We have had our first battle, Master Splinter. They were many, but we kicked... We fought well.


The ancient martial art of ninjitsu found an unlikely student in Leonardo. The Big Apple sewers were to become the stomping ground of a quartet of mutated turtles and in turn Leonardo would learn to channel his frustration of being caged in the New York underground to become an able leader and skilled fighter. Master Splinter's favorite student eventually discovered that his worst enemy were not the likes of the Shredder or Krang, but his own pride and stubbornness. Fortunately his brothers influence and good deep crust Pizza are known to have a calming effect on even the most dedicated students of the ancient arts of the ninja.


  • This is a digital illustration of about 48 bitmap layers. Using my mouse and standard Photoshop brushes and layer blend modes. The cards and textures I got from FusRoDa and edited them to suit our needs. I also tried to preserve as many of the steps as possible for the process animation. I then made the animation in Premiere Pro CC, simplified it, sped it up, added inserts, rendered it as an mp4 video file and then converted it to an animated gif online (nifty!)



Category#FanArt
MediumPhotoshop
SuitSpades
CharacterLeonardo
StyleDigital Illustration
Original ArtistsKevin Eastman & Peter Laird
First Apperance1984


Lore


Leonardo and his brothers were once ordinary turtles: when they were infants, they were adopted from a pet store by Hamato Yoshi. When their soon to be father walked passed a strange man, a Kraangdroid, he felt something odd about him and followed. Unfortunately, Yoshi gave away his position when he accidentally stepped on a brown rat's tail. The Kraang him and attempted to kill him, but Yoshi fought back hard. In the end, the Kraang dropped the canister of Mutagen they were holding, causing the turtles and Yoshi to mutate. Yoshi, having to have stepped on that rat, thus mutated into a humanoid brown rat by the name of "Splinter", while Leo and his brothers, after coming in contact with Splinter when he was human, mutated into humanoid turtles.

Splinter knew they would never be accepted in their urban society, so he took them to the sewers, made a home down there, and made the four turtles his children. Knowing the world would be dangerous and there would be a time where they want to explore the outside world, Splinter trained the boys in the art of Ninjitsu. Leo and his brothers were named after great Renaissance artists from a book Splinter fished out of the storm drain.



Process

Here's the animated process for Leornardo that I made out of the individual layers. Since I didn't have my original sketches anymore I reverse engineered the beginning stages of the drawing. I'm also trying to make a unique transition at the end of each card. Hope you dig it.

leonardo.gif




Card number six and the second in the suit of spades. I'd also like to point you guys towards the drawing contest that I'm currently hosting where you can actually try the same exercise and create some cards of your own!

Check it out here:

✏ Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes

Cowabunga,

ZeroOoC

feline_bade.png

Draw some more cards:


Sort: Β 

Super dope! We need an entire deck? I'll help! You down? lol

Yes we do!
Help me Obi Wan!

Really? I don't think I'm as good at these as you are, but I can give it a try! Do you have a set of deck graphics you are using, like for the card?

Yeah I'd love to see your interpretation. Being "good" isn't really a criteria in a subjective discipline.
No I come up with them on the fly using textures from FusRoDa and google images for the card suits!

Heard. Well, I think I can at least make it interesting. Let's see what happens.

Aye. We shall see :)

Leonardo has always been my favorite ninja turtle :D

I think my favorite was Donatello :)

he's also pretty badass!!

Exceptionally well done. I've also always liked TMNT. Cowabunga!

Thanks Chelsea!
Let's kick some Shell :P

So are you going to release these cards as a pack? Everything I've seen so far is bad-ass!

Uff more and more people keep asking that!
I think it's definitely in the cards now hurr
I Thank you :)

I'd say it's definitely got Kickstarter possibilities written all over it.

Amazing! I was always a fan of the Ninja Turtles, but almost forgot about them. Thx for your artful reminder :)

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Cowabunga! I'm happy you like it. If I think about it the Turtles are one of my biggest childhood loves. Very fun and wise, albeit fictional. But perhaps that doesn't matter so much as long as the lessons and art that remain are real?
Thanks!

Bro, props for making some of the best fan art I've ever seen of TMNT. Sick stuff, look forward to seeing more of this talent of yours.

<3
You honor this old orc.
We shall see what we can come up with.

Ps: I made this with the help of Pizza.

really cool ! very awesome design and i love how confident his stance is, too!

upvotes

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Merci! Tried to reflect his personality with his stance. Not all of my drawings look this grounded though. Remember that I chuck most of them out before you guys get to see anything ;)

Man, these are great! A deck of these would be awesome! Each with a different character on it, really cool!

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Phew I'll be busy for a while I guess ^^
I thank you :)

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

You got a 0.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @zeroooc!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received gratitude of 0.98 % from @appreciator thanks to: @zeroooc.

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Wow ! Amazing card. I really love it.. good job πŸ˜€ #tmnt

thank you @flowsteem!
Cowabunga!

I totally fan girl squeeed when I saw this ... not my favourite turtle (I'm a Raph girl myself) but this is amazing! I love the turtles and this is just awesome ;)