[myArt] 3d chibi TMNT keychains | from scratch to finish

in #art6 years ago

This February, I had been preoccupied in creating
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles keychains that my cousin requested me
to make as giveaway for her son's upcoming birthday party in Sweden.

chibi version of the turtles.


This post is a documentation on
how I created the keychains from scratch.

It's pretty long;
I included the list below as an overview
so, you dear readers, know what to expect
and/or decide if you would still like to continue reading...

Contents
Conceptualization
3d Modeling and Rapid Prototyping
Fabrication
Coloring of Models
Assembly and Final Touches
More Pictures of the Keychains



Conceptualization

First, I contemplated on how the keychains should look. Since it's
going to be a small model, I decided to do a chibi version for the following reasons:
• the essential elements will be emphasized in this style.
• ‎I am not adept in painting extremely little details in small models
nor do I have access in tools beyond a simple brush.

I explored some possible designs
the limbs, ‎plastron [the lower shell] and ‎slots to fit the weapons
of the turtles in their carapace —a feature I later decided not to employ.

I also listed some constraints which will guide me
in the actual drawing and fabrication process.


3d Modeling and Rapid Prototyping

They were the primary challenges and sort of a loop process: I made the 3d models then a prototype of it; created adjustments on the 3d model based on the physical replica then created another prototype. So on and so forth.

the final concept model.

I started with the shell and the body then made prototypes of the two
to ensure acceptable fitting tolerance. I only began making the head's model
when I was fabricating the final bodies.


I made only two versions for the body.

The right one was used as the final body. Its upper curvature is the same as that of the carapace's. In addition, its plastron shell is more visible than the left model.

I had to create many adjustments here;
from its proportion to the overall body and shell, bandana and its eyes.
It took me several tries.

I have insufficient experience in sculpting, so please do forgive my work xD
it's a FAN-ART. FAN-MADE sooo they don't have to look exactly like the original characters because they're only a keychain! haha



Fabrication

components of the turtles.

The final set took nearly 40 hours to create, excluding the breaks in-between
as well as the time I spent in the previous steps.



Coloring the Models

This is the fun and messy part! and I daresay the most exhausting.
⁽⁽◝(๑꒪່౪̮꒪່๑)◜⁾⁾≡₍₍◞(๑꒪່౪̮꒪່๑)◟₎₎
I wanted them to look true to their characters so I painted them according to their images I found on net.

I used acrylic paints, the ones in plastic containers, that I bought
last year from a nearby school supply store.

I started with the shells, then worked on the skin of bodies and heads,
the plastrons, the eyeballs, then the bandanas and lastly, the pupils.


I purposely used different colors and varying shades of green for the carapace and skin, respectively, as I could see different color schemes of the characters in google image hits.

I had trouble in the bandanas as my hands were slightly shaking already and had to repaint the places I mis-painted the following day. Still I'm happy with the overall result.

The paint exuded life to the once lackluster models~



Assembly and Final Touches

Right after the last model dried, my dad and I started assembling the turtles!
He attached the shells to the bodies while I only attached the heads to the assembled bodies.

I submerged them into a final coating to give extra protection against the elements.

My parents were extremely pleased with the final results.
They were so amazed with the glossy finishing.
Lastly, my dad installed the keyrings ^o^



More Pictures of the Keychains

look! the turtles are ready now in traveling to Sweden!
°˖✧◝(⁰▿⁰)◜✧˖°
I was half-tempted to write "home grown, made in the Philippines,"
or any mark around the carapace that would identify its origin lol.

This project took me more than two good weeks. And I'm glad that when we finally gave it to my cousin, she appreciated much my work. Her kids even wanted to play with 'em then!




thanks for reading!
maybe i'll post more project like this.
shout-out to my mom for assisting me with the write-up.
^o^


happy steeming and see ya around~

'til next time!
o(๑>ω<๑)o

Sort:  

great things come from hard work. great job po


salamat po
it's 100% labor of wuv
⊂((・▽・))⊃

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zirensparvg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Works done with love always end up great! Never imagined how tedious it is to complete those mini-ninja turtles. I LOVE THEM!


salamat po!
( ´ ▽ ` )ノ
tedious indeed!
on the first day i painted,
i couldn't move afterward!
it was truly exhausting

Well, those little monsters looked so adorable. Your work is exemplary :)

This was impressive! I loved the sketches, they're so well presented and organised! Great end-product too!


thanks!

i intend to publish more
art-maker related post like this
tho prolly not as long as this documentation

Those are cuties! You've put tons of hard work to create this and it's a job well done. Now seeing those before they were colored, I'd love to have pinkish ninja turtles though. ♥


thanks!
it's interesting that you
actually prefer the pink mini ninja turtle
a mini dawnsheree turtle lol
if only you're near where i live,
i would've given you a pink version
as i have spares from printing the prototypes

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles! I love it! Great job!


谢谢
xièxiè | thanks
i will likely post more art-maker documentation
maybe a more simplified one
^o^

interesting topic...:)


salamat po!
this is the documentation that
I was talking about in my acrylic paints pix,
my last steepshot submission
^o^