Advantages of sketching rocks.

in #art5 years ago

I've been working lately in various t-shirt designs for a friend who is an avid climber and also do bouldering. So is obvious that there should be rocks and boulders in the designs. I finished this one a couple of days ago:

2.jpg

First the rock was like this:

2v.jpg

Which was not bad, but I wanted to make a little more interesting the shapes and lines and decided to change it as it is in the first image.

Rocks have certain qualities that make them fun and easy to draw and sketch, which is great for building up confidence, control, line-weight and line-fluidity for beginners as for not-so-newbies.

I personally like very much to draw and sketch stones and rocks because:

Perspective in rocks is not heavy (I'm not saying there's absolutely no perspective, there's always perspective in everything we draw) meaning is easy to handle and not very explicit in most of them.

There are rocks that have very sexy shapes, if one can learn to see the patterns in this shapes, it becomes easier to build a visual library when sketching rocks.

If you draw a rock not exactly as it is in real life, you can get away with it because rocks' features are very random. So it's easy to relax and draw inaccurately... it will look like a rock no matter the grade of likeness that you depict it with.

The cracks and fractures of rocks are very dynamic, diverse and fluid, they can teach your hand to have a solid but flexible flow when drawing.

Because rocks are composed of lots of different planes (unless heavily eroded) they're great for practicing shading.

Here are some studies and sketches I've done with ink and paper.

IMG_20190201_234214.jpg

IMG_20190201_234125.jpg

IMG_20190201_234106.jpg

IMG_20190201_234300.jpg

So.. rocks are cool and easy to draw. Just try them!

Sort:  

These look great!

Thanks! Cool you dig'em!

Ooooh I like it :D. You made rocks to be interesting to draw. I realise I haven’t paid much attention to them, I guess I should.

Show us the shirt with the final design if you can :).

Oh I was thinking to put some of the tshirts designs mockups in the post, but I thought I was throwing a lot of images like a maniac haha, I felt I was being too noisy. I'll definitely share some photos when the tshirts are printed though.

Great work with the varying line weights in the design of the rocks, it looks very good.

Thanks! You have some great stuff in your blog! I followed you :)

Thank you, like wise

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

I didn't know it was a profile too. Following it now.

Great post!

I love your words. They sound very wise and philosopical. :)

Greets

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I'm just an amateur haha. Neither wise nor philosophical.

I love these, zeen <3 You rock the rocks !!!!! XD

.... where are more zeen posts :O

I WANT MORE ZEEN POSTS :O :O :O

Yo! I've been busy and stuff :( But gonna post from tonight on a burst of posts :D

You better! YOU PROMISED MEEEEEE!!!!!

Congratulations @znkd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!