ART EXPLOSION WEEK 31: Theme TIME

in #artexplosion6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steem! I decided to take part in one interesting contest. The theme of the contest is "Time". Сreating a picture, I was based on the expression of the famous ancient Roman poet Virgil Maron Publius: "Omnia fert aetas", which means "Time takes all".
And this is true, even beauty and life turn into ashes like a sand from an hourglass. Everything comes to an end.

For drawing I used high-quality paper (100% cotton) and oil paints. Paper size is A6. This is the result of my drawing.

So, a few steps of the drawing.
Drew the contours with pencil.

Painted with blue colour background around the hourglass. The first layer is very important, because the oil should absorb well into the paper. I made a small color gradient from dark to light.

Then painted the hourglass: beige color on the wooden stand and blue color on the glass.

Now the turn of the girl as a symbol of beauty and life in this picture. Painted her face, hands and dress. Then painted sand with sand color.

Blotted out the blue background in the picture, added more shadows, drew small details.

Added more highlights to the glass of the hourglass, painted the wood texture on the stand.

Photographed in daylight.

Process.

Thank you for your attention! I will be glad to see you visiting my blog! Please, subscribe!

Sorry for my poor English. I have not practice for a long time.

Sort:  

Jesus Christ... I always wished to can express my feeling through drawing... Actually I do it. But it looks good only to me :))

thank you)

I like the concept, your art is exceptional, success in the contest @kleonella

thank you)

Thank you so much for showing the process. It truly makes your piece of art much more special!

thank you) I try to make my posts interesting )