Artichoke seeds planted. The beginning of my gardening season 2019!

in #artichokes5 years ago (edited)

Today I have started the vegetable year of 2019. 1st on the list is artichokes!

Last year I planted these seeds way too late and thought maybe I’ll at least get the lilac flowers. But then I didn’t even bother to do anything at all with the small green plants that started to grow. I just left them in the small paper cups where I had planted them. In the autumn they were still going strong despite the bad treatment. I thought they were 1-year plants and threw them away. Hmm.

This year I’m starting early with the seeds, we have winter here. I have ten seeds left and planted these today in small paper cups. Since I am doing a lot of different vegetables, this year I will label my pots with a permanent marker.

My mistakes from last year (which was my first gardening experience ever) were:

  1. Starting too late with artichokes and also with tomatoes.
  2. Not labelling correctly so I was slightly confused with what was what especially when it came to strawberries and wild strawberries.
  3. Not looking after the strawberry plants properly so they all died.
  4. Mistaking for example artichokes to be 1-year plants and throwing them out when I could have let them live to 2019.

So here are the first plants of 2019. I will update the progress as they grow. Hopefully in some months these will be super beautiful artichoke plants. :)

IMG_2769.JPG

Have a good day Steemians!