MY LATE KNOWLEDGE OF STEEMIT

in #article6 years ago

image

You came when the war was lost,
When our armies fell, and our soldiers fled.
Our bones too weak to hold the muscles that held the weapons,
We were being slaughtered, for our freedom.
Alas, when the war is lost, who will inherit the kingdom?

You gave us a choice, the freedom of submission to the light,
Or the death of hubris, and eternal fire.
Clear as day, was the perdition of fighting alone,

But my heart wept in agony, as the world chose to perish,
Drinking poisoned wine of sin, committing to an afterlife of grief.
But I was in the middle,

For I thought myself clever,

To inebriate my soul with the liquors of pleasure,

Find comfort in the lust of fecund women,

And when the twilight of my life draw near,

Cleanse myself with the waters of your grace.

Now the emptiness in my soul echoes the foolishness of my ways,

But my soul rejoices,

For where many have fallen, never to be seen again,

You have pulled me out of the darkness,

So my spirit can walk salvation’s path again.

Until our last breath, this war will never end.

Your strength is enough to win,

In the end, all our hearts needed to do was believe.

I believe in steemit