Robots making drawings responding to an environment and visitor's presence - Patrick Tresset

in #arts6 years ago

I must confess, Patrick Tresset has intrigued me by his robotic-art developments. Robots that are sensitive of an environment, the people present, and make scribbles representation, human facial depictions too, that make sense out of the impulses. The most amazing aspect of this achievement is that this decovery of the creative machine-art is a secondary passion. He has this to say: "For 13 years I was trying to be a painter until I lost my passion for it. Since 2000 I have been researching and developing systems that could draw. It took me 10 years to be satisfied with the results. Since 2011 as an art practice I have been inventing, building and exhibiting robots that draw from life."

During his recent solo exhibition at Waterman's Art Center, London, Patrick Tresset presented two new installations. The video:

On a large rectangular table a duo of ambidextruous mobile robots (RNP-A) scribble continuously on a large sheet of paper and occasionally observe with curiosity the visitors. What they depict are the environment from their own perspective and visual memories of events especially audience’s physical presence.
h5_1-5a39e80691d17__880.jpg

From 3-21 October, 2012 at NEO Bankside Pavilion A, London, Tresset presented 6 robots named Paul. artistbook_Merge__MG_1284.jpg

Gallery visitors were able to have their portrait sketched by 6 of Tresset’s robots. Each robot would draw the sitter from a different point of view; the drawings would then make up the exhibition in the space. The public could pre-book a slot to come and sit for a portrait. The robots also drew all the artists and musicians involved in the festival to create a special exhibition.
artistbook_Merge_IMG_9708.jpg

Take a look at some of the scribbled images made by Tresset’s machines:

Here's the drawing machine in action:


I found this combination of arts and technology stunning and I thought to share.

Sort:  

Love the connection between art and technology - resteemed!

Serious....it is amazing

Wow. Intriguing. Mankind is gradually throwing out the limits of its capabilities. I will research into Patrick's works. Thanks for bringing him to my knowledge.

Yeah....it's your kind of thing....