Monthly art review #4 - January 2021

in #artzone3 years ago (edited)

Lots of non-art stuff happened this month, so not as much art as I would have liked - A quiet start to the year I guess...

NFT sales
2 sales this month, but very exciting ones! 'The old one' (below) was my genesis piece for Known Origin, and my first Wildcards collectible also sold (more details below).


The old one sm.jpg
'The old one', My genesis piece on Known Origin

New artwork in December
Only 4 new pieces in total this month

SuperRare - My 15th 1/1 landscape on this platform, ‘Moonlit congress’. It represents a meeting between elemental forces in nature (the sea, the land and the moon), as well as a meeting between traditional and new media (started with mixed media on heavy paper and finished digitally).

Known Origin - Two new pieces appear on this platform this month. Fans will know that I try to do something different on each platform. I have decided to pursue my interest in the fantasy and sci-fi art genres here...but with a twist. I will be playing around with a GAN (Generative Adversarial Network) application, as well as using digital painting techniques! Exciting times ahead!

Wildcards is a collectible cards platform on the Matic network that essentially allows you to adopt an animal in a conservation programme and contribute a monthly fee to the conservation work (for as long as you hold the card). I was privileged enough to be allowed to paint 'Edmund' the anteater's card (below). This card has already sold to a collector!


wildcard1 sm.jpg
'Edmund', my new Wildcards collectible

Social media
My twitter followers grew again, from 623 to 718 in January.
Rarible followers grew from 276 to 293, which is another nice little increase again.

I only wrote two blogs this month, mostly because of a lack of time! My January review, and a 'collector's edition' piece (starting to look at the range of work I do on various platforms), both published here on PeakD (see previous blogs).

Art for my collection
Unfortunately, no new artworks for my collection this month. There was lots of great art released but unfortunately my budget is a bit on the low side at the moment.


The nomads sm copy.jpg
'The nomads', 2021 1/1 edition on Known Origin

Other news
As you might have guessed by now - I was accepted onto Known Origin this month! I had been working on a number of pieces to add to the platform while I was waiting. Both the 'old one' and 'the nomads' use a combination of GAN generated landscapes and my own digital overpainting in photoshop (a new technique I'm playing around with right now).

Also, I completed my commission piece from last month's twitter giveaway. This has now been printed as a giclee print, signed and posted to the lucky winner in the Philippines!


IMG_3668.JPG
December's twitter giveaway now printed!

Finally, I had only 2 pet portrait commissions this month. It always slows down a bit after Christmas, however, these two commissions are the largest (physically and in terms of number of animals in one portrait) that I have yet done! They are not finished yet, but I will show them once they are complete.

Thanks for staying with me till the end. I realise these reviews can be quite dry. I write them for my own future benefit, so that I have a lot of information in one place to look back on. But I also think it might be interesting to some others who are also trying to make it in this new crypto art/nft space in the future (feedback is always welcome!).

Thanks for reading!
Adam

Sort:  

Cool, you seem to be very busy on these platforms. I couldn't manage to check out all these nft related things but I guess that's the future, isn't it? I like your landscapes a lot by the way!

Thank you @patschwork, and yes haha, trying to keep very busy - these NFTs seem to be an interesting opportunity and very well worth exploring in my opinion.

!discovery 30


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @adamfryda-art! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day