Ballpoint pen sketch (+STEPS)

in #artzone4 years ago

_DSC9813.jpg

Although I am pretty busy painting and teaching nowadays there are times when I want to draw with my pen, just do enjoy this feeling of flow when I hatch and slowly build the form. This sketch was inspired by Guillermo del Toro's "The Shape of Water"

_DSC9806.jpg

I start very carefully and I apply my strokes extremely light, my goal is to indicate shadow shapes and I just do it with outlines of the shapes, trying to combine smaller shapes into bigger ones

_DSC9807.jpg

Next stage is filling the shadows to separate shadows from the lights. Since pen is non erasable it is very important to know to which value group shape belongs to lest I go too dark in halftones or in the lights

_DSC9808.jpg

Final rendering starts from the head and goes down. I try to buils the form by hatching and cross-hatching very lighty in halftone areas

_DSC9809.jpg

Last stages of this drawing are very relaxing, usually I can get lost in thoughts while hatching and filling large shapes and refining overal picture. Here is the final:

_DSC9813.jpg

Hope you dig it fellas!

Sort:  

Amazing!

Love it!!! Hey, it's nice to see you posting again :D

It's amazing, how you achieve all the shadows and lights with strokes ...If you can stop by my blog and leave me some tips on how to improve.

That is awesome <3

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

As an enthusiast of ink/pen drawing myself I must bow my head down in awe of your skills. Please do post more, it's a joy to my eyes

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, dig it Arthur. Great work!

Your post was voted by THEUNIONSUPPORT.

tus_fondzooom1.jpg