You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tiller of the Earth - a sculpture of a farmer

in #artzone6 years ago

There is nothing that can hit me as a sculpture. Even I am painter, no painting gives me chills like when I see sculpture I like. First time I saw Rodin in Prague museum, my legs cut of :) Not to mention my urge to touch Henry Moore pieces, had problem to hold myself several times @kathleenscarboro.
Another great piece and thank you for sharing pics of model itself.

Sort:  

So glad you like it @jungwatercolor, sculpting directly from a live model is challenging and exciting. Sculpture does have its own charm. Rodin is incredibly expressive.

Rodin is nice but i mistrust his work as he often took his students work and claimed it as his own, but i totally understand the sentiment :) creating sculptures is almost like creating golems you expect them to move at some point :)

Yes @tygertyger, we try to breathe life into our sculptures.