You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Market Place in Delhi, an oil painting.

in #artzone6 years ago

Glad you like it. I tend to do my backgrounds before inserting any narrative (people, objects). This allows me to work on color and texture, and in this case to do the large motifs. I often feel that we figurative artists tend to rely too much on the seduction of facial expressions or rendering of figures and forget that the whole painting needs to be interesting. So I developed this method which allows me to put the story on the back burner while I make the general situation interesting composition and color wise. Then when I insert the narrative, it is fun because it creates a surprise, and if all goes well, the background and figures complement each other. I have found playing with composition in photoshop is lots of fun because it allows me to try out all sorts of possibilities before settling on one. Layer masks are great for this.