The Immigrant Song - Songs Into Art #2.

in #artzone6 years ago

A while ago I made a post about an idea I had, I wanted to create drawings based on songs, it can be based on the song title, an extract of the lyrics, a part of the musical video, or even the way the song makes me fell; basically, my limitation could only be my imagination.

Today's song is The Immigrant Song by Led Zeppelin and here is the result.

Final.jpg

You can find the first post of Songs Into Art here, a drawing based in the song The Sky Is A Neighborhood by Foo Fighters.

The Song:

Artist: Led Zeppelin.
Album: Led Zeppelin III.
Year: 1970.
Genre: Rock.

led.jpg

Source:

Chorus.

Ahh! Ahh!
We come from the land of the ice and snow
From the midnight sun where the hot springs blow

Verse 1.

The hammer of the gods
Will drive our ships to new lands
To fight the horde
Sing and cry
Valhalla, I am coming

Hook.

On we sweep with threshing oar
Our only goal will be the western shore

Verse 2.

How soft your fields so green
Can whisper tales of gore
Of how we calmed the tides of war
We are your overlords

Fun Fact #1:

What was their inspiration for the song?

The lyrics, as explained by Robert Plant, are influenced by the band visiting Iceland, a land first settled by Vikings.

“We weren't being pompous... We did come from the land of the ice and snow. We were guests of the Icelandic Government on a cultural mission. We were invited to play a concert in Reykjavik and the day before we arrived all the civil servants went on strike and the gig was going to be cancelled. The university prepared a concert hall for us and it was phenomenal. The response from the kids was remarkable and we had a great time. 'Immigrant Song' was about that trip and it was the opening track on the album that was intended to be incredibly different.”

My Inspiration:

The song made me think in Vikings in an expedition to new lands, sailing through an angry sea, being watched by Thor, the god of thunder in the Norse mythology, represented by the lighting.

Fun Fact #2:

The weekday “Thursday” was name like it because of Thor ("Thor's day").

Materials:

  • Soft Pastel.
  • Mechanical Pencil.
  • Eraser.
  • Textured Cardboard.
  • Q-tips.
  • Paper tape

The Process:

First I started by loosely sketching a base and then I proceeded to paint with soft pastel.

IMG_20180421_223748.jpg

I went adding colors and layers.

IMG_20180421_224643.jpg

And then I blended the color with my fingers and for the small areas I used a Q-tip.
IMG_20180421_231438.jpg

I added small details with the edge of the soft pastel, like the lines of the waves.
IMG_20180421_233202.jpg

I drew a lighting with a mechanical pencil.
IMG_20180421_233304.jpg

And then I added white to the lighting.
IMG_20180421_233950.jpg

The drawing was finished, but I wanted to add a little bit more.
IMG_20180422_024053.jpg

I opened the image in photoshop to add a few touches, I changed the levels, the brightness and the contrast and it was done!
Captura de pantalla (212).png

Thank you for passing by and reading my post!

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Immigrant_Song

wow you are very talented! :)

Hiii! Thank you for passing by and reading my post! :D

nice work! and great posting showing the process and the song ect.

Thank you for your kind comment!