'Watching' painting

in #artzone5 years ago

Hey, this is another one of my paintings that I wanted to share with you. It was painted last year in Luke Brown's class at VAVA. There wasn't much planning involved in this one, it came through in a flow state where I simply sat back and watched my hands paint it effortlessly.

It's cool when you have clear vision of what you wish to create and then work to see it materialise; although there's something special to me about the paintings where you just start making spontaneous marks on the canvas without any idea of where its going, but keeping faith and then something interesting begins taking shape.
Hope you enjoy the painting as much as I enjoyed painting it!

Watcher.jpg
'Watching', 70cm x 50cm, oil on linen

If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate it if you leave me a comment, upvote or resteem.
You can follow me @philjoannides to see more of my work in the future and I invite to have a look at the paintings I've already shared.

For inquiries about purchasing paintings or prints you can contact me at [email protected]

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Congratulations @philjoannides! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

GOSSSSSSSSSSH gosh gossssh

I love this so much, @philjoannides ! I tried to do something similar recently with an inked piece, but this, right here, is basically the feeling that I was trying to nail....

You wonderfully captured the idea ! A watchful pair of eyes in the sky !

I love all the strange faces at the top parts, as well.... This is absolutely gorgeous * ___ *

@veryspider thank you so much! I really appreciate it :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

¡Hola @philjoannides! Es increíble la cantidad de rostro que puedes ver, al observar con detenimiento la pintura, me gustó mucho tu obra, con tu permiso la tomare para participar en el concurso de curación Pay It Forward estas invitado cordialmente a participar, cariños y abrazos.

@celinavisaez Muchas gracias, y te doy permiso para enviarlo. :)

Congratulations @philjoannides! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A night sky full of faces @philjoannides.. looks amazing and thanks for sharing it with us.

@cicisaja thanks, glad you enjoy it!

Interesting work, @philjoannides!

PS: I've found your post because @celinavisaez featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I love all the partial faces in this painting. Do you have a website with more of your work?

P.S. I found you through @pifc.

@mattifer Not yet, you can find me on Instagram @phil.joannides or on Facebook though :)

Cool beans, I'll look you up on facebook. I don't use instagram.


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 37. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Wow I love the colors, it's amazing that with those little faces you create a main face .. This painting has some relation with your previous publication? I say it because you include the faces in your paintings is for something specific? Greetings @philjoannides

The faces came through in a flow state so there wasn't really a rational reason for them. I sometime interpret them in different ways but what is important is; what does it say to you?

Ahh now I understand! Your painting is amazing, I see very good paintings in Steemit, but it completely caught me, I would like to see how the process is in video, would it be wonderful, have you done it before?

Not yet, could be fun to try at some point though :)

Oh my gosh, this is absolutely stunning!!! I love it and have been staring at it for some time now :) I keep seeing new things!

Wonderfully done @philjoannides! It is really amazing what happens when we get out of heads and let the process take over. This is one of those pictures that you will find something new in it each time or your mood will change how you see it.

You were featured for week 37 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @celinavisaez. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

True @tryskele thank you very much!

This piece is amazing! Do you still have it, the original I mean? You posted this on my day of arrival.

Thank you! I'm glad it resonates with you. Yes, the original is still available
https://philjoannides.com/product/watching-original-painting/
It looks even better in person since the camera cannot capture transparencies.

Amazing, I will consider it in the near future, a little more than I have to spare atm but respect the value.