For My Dad

in #asapers6 years ago

IMG_6603.JPG

As a young child my Dad took my sister and I down to an overpass to watch the steam engines, Puffers as we called them, come breathing and puffing out of the round house and going onto the world. We were entranced. As they came towards us Dad brought us back a bit so the steam and soot wouldn't get all over us. During the summer months we had a cottage on Cape Cod and again, we would go to the train station to wait for the train. Then it had gone to diesel. Sometimes Dad would place a penny on the tracks and we would wait as the train roared past us and flattened our new prize.

During my adult life I have found I'm never living to far away from trains and tracks and hearing them blasting their horn as they roll through town. It brings me comfort.

Now as we spend two nights in Van Horn, Texas the tracks are about 200 feet from us. Needless to say, I'm in heaven.

My Dad always wanted to travel out West and see the land, the long line of box cars being drawn across the country but never got beyond seeing it in magazines or on the TV. Last night as I lay in bed I could hear the train coming miles away. I knew it was getting closer and closer and I knew it would blow it's horn as he crossed roads going through this small town but as he did, I jumped, then smiled until I could hear the next approaching train.

This one is for you Dad!!

http://www.sheilawedegisart.com

Sort:  

The Great Buppie my awesome father-in-law!

and he loved you!!!

hey @swedegis, I wanted to tell you that you have a chance to play in these games and earn some money... Here is the link so you can see what I am talking about:

https://steemit.com/play4anewbie/@davemccoy/play-4-a-newbie-challenge-day-1-scoreboard-and-games-to-play

play4anewbie.gif

Thank you Dave, I'll check them out. Hope they are easy , lol .

yes most of them are very easy... A few are challenging, but most are pretty simple... On #12 it is very easy (just look at the other answers) but you have to get that entered in the next few hours.. here is an updated list:

https://steemit.com/play4anewbie/@davemccoy/play-4-a-newbie-challenge-day-2-scoreboard-and-games-to-play

Thank you Dave. I think I'm going to have to wait til we get someplace that we will be staying for awhile. We live full time in an RV and right now travelling back east. I keep missing. lol Don't need to get any more discouraged..lol.

I nominated you to do this one Sheila, but don't worry...there's always another time; @davemccoy always has something new going on! I forgot you guys were travelling, but I thought it might be a good way for you to meet some more peeps here :) I've got your back...please don't get discouraged. I found in the beginning, I had to comment like crazy on a lot of different people's posts to kind of force them to notice me haha

Hope the trip is going well!

Trip is great. Stopped last night in Kinder, Louisiana until Sunday. We have internet here for an hour..lol..but most places zero. Once we get to Florida and stay for a week things will settle a bit before we head off again.

Thanks Lynn. Hope all is well with you and I need to go see if you got your new four legged friend yet!!!!

Sometimes it's so nice NOT to have internet when you're travelling. You can pretend that it's just you, Roger and the pups in the world....no news, no bad thoughts, just pleasantries...and Roger's cooking :)

It's a long story, and one I haven't yet shared here, but it looks like my little pup might not be mine after all:( The owner's son has decided he wants him, so I've been showing him how to properly care for a dog. In the end, if the boy loves his dog enough and shows him love, how can I possibly take him away from that? It makes me sad and happy all at once.

Continued safe travels :)

ahhh its ok... no worries... You didn't lose anything and I'm sure we will be repeating this one again ;)... Have a safe trip! And stay in touch :D

Thank you, will do!

Hi @swedegis! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

Thank you. <3

Thanks for sharing such sweet childhood memories. My dad also loved trains, and every now and then, when I hear one off in the distance (thank you, Newmarket train tracks), I can picture him smiling...

As our kids were growing we lived right along the Dover tracks behind Reds shoe barn. Now my daughter lives on the street that comes out to the bridge going over. At the campground in Lee I hear your train at night. Love it. Just always near.

I just love that when you describe these places, I know exactly where you mean! What a small cyber world it is, eh? 😊

Oh, and just realized I kinda broke my voting power today, so instead - tip!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

What a sweet post @swedegis! and yours and Roger's comments are too cute!

You reminded me of the times I would put a penny on the tracks for my own kids to enjoy! I'd forgotten all about that :)

I love this...the memories we have, and the way they come out, are so amazing. In your travels, your mind travels too!