Steemit's Trending Page Is Entirely in Korean. Trying To Find My Place In The World

in #askhive4 years ago

Screenshot of Trending posts — Steemit.jpg

Every Day During the pandemic is like that movie groundhog day for me, Nothing changes.

And I wake up to check my daily steem war and realize that I either forgot english or that the entire page is in Korean.

I'm not sure what to make of it only that I know steemit is popular in Korea and Justin Sun must be Korean. Hurrah for them!!

But where do I fit in. My 3rd steemit birthday is coming up and I still plan to rescue my money because I bough near the top. If after nearly 3 years of posting and curating if steem reaches $.68 I will be made hole.

That has been my plan and it looks like a good one until the first time I heard of Justin Sun. I know nothing about him other than for some reason or another, she shook my tree.

While enjoy hive I have high hopes but low expectations for the platform. I have lots of reasons but I'm sticking it out. Im a very loyal guy and I'm willing to help at all times. But I was the same way on steem so it is hard to let go. (well at least until my power down)

So I want to ask hive their thoughts on the state of steem with regard to a future pump. If it is turning korean and justin has enough to pump it, then seems to me that he will at some point. I would like to exit on a pump.

But also I would like to get into the hive club. I seem to be an outsider. I get no votes but I curate. I can write great posts and nobody cares or I can do a quickly and it gets engagement.

I'm waiting til i'm accepted as a value part of the community so I can bring influencers onboard and hold their hands through the learning curve. I tried that on steemit and the bounced out by donwvotes and weird comments.

I'm talking about people with 50,000 to 1,000,000 or more followers. But I won't do it until I feel a part of this things and my onboards will do well.

Heck i have a facebook page with 181,000 active fans I could bring over for a niche but hive isnt ready. I have someone else lined up to bring a martial arts community with 116,000 followers . He's ready but I have to guarantee that Hive will support his followers. I have to really believe hive will support new members because It went so badly on steemit.

Sort:  

Yeah! I noticed that too. All Korean! I'm glad that I transitioned to Hive, not that I have anything against my Korean brothers and sisters! I love those people... even if I don't understand what they are writing. But with that much Korean on the front page... I would feel like a fish out of water. It doesn't seem healthy somehow especially when you consider how many people were on the network from all around the world... before.

Yeah... I can relate. I have been thinking a lot about when I would like to bring my Fitbit and Twitter followers over to Hive. As well, I have been thinking about what it means to have a healthy community (online and offline). We need things to be healthy here before I consider letting people know about the Hive Blockchain.

About the high friend counts on some of these accounts (and low up-vote/engagement). Don't worry (or worry?) about that... Interestingly enough, I have been going carefully through my follower list. You wouldn't believe how many of those accounts are either bots or inactive accounts. 😬

For me activity and engagement is a good indicator for over all community health...

What do you think @cflclosers?

Congratulations @cflclosers! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I would be interested to hear your thoughts on this now that some water has passed under the bridge.