You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AskSteem: What are your thoughts on ghostwriters?

in #asksteem4 years ago (edited)

I'd never submit a ghost written post (if I discovered one) for a curie because there is an underlying dishonesty in it. Even if they mention the true author, and/or set beneficiaries to them, the person presenting the ghostwritten post is reaping the rewards of the increase in their reputation score... something that may mean little now, but could mean a lot if steem is more successful in the future.

I guess I'm old fashioned, and want to see less gaming of the system. I know it's par for the course on steem, but (as a dedicated content creator who doesn't engage in these tactics) it just wears you down after a while watching gaming get rewarded.

So, as a curator, I choose not to reward anything with even the slightest sniff of gaming the system, including a ghost written post. Personal choice.

P.s. I like that story of the ghostwriter who turned up on steem and ousted the person who'd hired them 🤣

Wholesome is a good description. As someone who now makes more than half my income writing commissioned articles (occasionally ghostwritten), it's nice to hear a story like that where a writer wins out. Freelance writing can be a cutthroat business where the writer often gets the raw deal pay wise.

Sort:  

but could mean a lot of steem finds success in the future.

I don't see this at all, especially after the years of bid bots reputation will mean very little if anything. I'm looking forward to communities adding their own rep scores and maybe someone creating an oracle SMT that gives another meaning to a reputation score and the front-ends implementing it.

Yeah, that's why I don't like ghostwriting. In the beginning of Steem there was a lot of "i'll post for you cause I have this and that many followers and trail + autovotes and share the rewards with you", although this was before resteems existed too there was a lot of gaming going on there as well. Looking back at those accounts that did that and the rewards they shared with the "real author accounts" you can see many of those accounts ended up dead and were probably them themselves pretending to be different authors.

On that note I'm also looking forward to a community with verified users in some way where verifying you're a unique person through your other social media accounts or KYC if you are okay with it gets incentivized but not disincentivizing those wanting to stay anon like voice.com wants to do. Many want to stay anon for many reasons and it doesn't mean it's just because they want to game the system or do something worse at some point. Reputation will matter and I hope we get a better system for it by then.

Yeah, you're probably right about the rep thing, but I stand by everything else I've said in that comment.

I'm also looking forward to a community with verified users in some way where verifying you're a unique person through your other social media accounts or KYC if you are okay with it gets incentivized

I'm 100% with you on this. You must know as a curator that it makes life so much easier (when considering a guild 'large' vote) if a user has linked their steem page on another social media account to show that level of accountability and identity.

When I was super active with curie, during 2017 bull run, I used to occasionally comment on a new steemians post who was an excellent content creator, asking them to consider either making an intro post for verification, or linking their steem page on their YouTube/Blog etc so that I could submit them with confidence that content wasn't plagiarized. This was rare as generally reposted content is discoraged for submission, but sometimes the content was so good that it deserved to be an exception to the rule. Hopefully 'communities' will make this whole process easier in regards to verification. Maybe by building an 'opt in' place where people who produce high quality content, and don't mind verifying their identity in some way, can all interact, locking out the spam jockeys and shit posters. It would be a great way for curation guilds to boost the high quality up, with less of the work and I would imagine it would drive the value of any SMT attached to that community positively through the fact that a tone of decent content creators who've left steem for those very reasons of gaming mentioned above would return.

Maybe I'm a dreamer, but I'd like to see a virtuous cycle happen in a community where the potential rewards from manual curation from guilds, and other people who genuinely want to see quality and hard work go rewarded, provides higher incentive than all of the autovote shenanigans that proliferate now.

Many want to stay anon for many reasons and it doesn't mean it's just because they want to game the system or do something worse at some point.

I get this completely, but if you want to stay anon, then the reality is that you need to be aware that curators (especially) view your content with a healthy level of skepticism. Lol, but I guess that's what plagiarism checks are for... they are a ball ache though 😂 I'd prefer to see that 'utopian' community I described above emerge.