Old Theatre: Semi-old Town

in #aswcontest6 years ago

IMG_3736.JPG

My hometown used to be a booming city full of life. It used to have a greyhound bus station and restaurants and a movie theatre. Nowadays, were lucky enough to have a population high enough to consider us even a town or have one tiny mini-market. Other than that, there's a bunch of meth-heads and tweakers and a fading memory of something that was once much greater. @customnature aswcontest!

Sort:  

Wow, looks awful

Real awful! But also pretty neat eh? I like the colors that are left over and the old writing in paint.

Sometimes it makes me sad when going back to my hometown and finding that it's not the same way as it used to be. So glad that we can still remember the fun times we had.

Even though the theatre isn't running and in real rough shape ( literally just walls) it's still a nice relic to drive by and maybe walk around. To remember the old times!

Hello, You just received an upvote via the
Steemit Information Browser Bot
Automatically, vote, follow and comment on posts in your favourite tag.

I'm just now learning about these contests on Steemit. Cool pic, but sorry to hear about the theatre. If you don't mind us asking, where is this?

Ya, these contests are fun and keep me excited to post and share. This is in Tuolumne county.

Oh snap @chriskautzer she beat you to it

Too many steemers for one town 😂

I grew up in an area with a similar story, so seeing images like these particularly resonate with me. My hope for areas like that are that folks will come in and give those historic buildings the care and attention they need so they don’t fade into oblivion. That history is so important to preserve.

You can tell that in its day, it really had a majestic facade front and marquis.

Great submission. Very resonating.

Thank you, yes I agree. There's another real old building that used to be the office for the mill that is now about to get demolished instead of being restored. Makes me a little sad, especially for the reasons why they are doing it. But oh well.... life goes on.