Response to father Casey

in #atheism3 years ago (edited)

I came across a very interesting video yesterday. An open letter vlog recorded by a Catholic priest. A video that in a friendly manner, challenges non believers to be better humans.

The rest of this post, I will write as If I'm writing it directly to Father Casey. If he ever gets to read it, that's another question.



Dear Father Casey:

I'm happy to see that in your video, you did not use the typical straw men attacks that have been levied against those who don't believe in your faith. It seems quite futile, but they always seem to get recycled for some reason.

I happen to agree with many of the things you've brought up, but I think that there's a small admission you made, possibly unintentionally, that should be front and center for this discussion.

You seem to accept that non believers, just like those who do, can be good and moral. You also accept that having a belief system does not equate being a good person. Which brings me to the question I would like to ask you: Where does the goodness come from?

If the framework, the missions, the guidelines and even the holy books are so different. Why do we seem to have a consensus of what good is? Could it be that morality is a social construct after all? Could it be that what we call humanism is better suited as a framework for morality, and that it as it evolves, has influenced our interpretations of the holy books?

I ask these questions not to put in doubt your moral values, but to ask you, if its possible that they have nothing to do with your Catholic faith.

We are in agreement on one core message of your open letter. The invitation towards the exploration of the difficult questions. I believe, just like you, that lazy thinking is a big problem in our society today. I think the challenge, the invitation to study more, should be given out to everyone interested in this very subject. I'm sure you've also met people of faith, who don't even know the existence of the field of apologetics, and possibly stay away in fear of the "evil atheists" poisoning their minds.

I would like to close this short letter, by thanking your for opening this door for discussion. The smugness and dismissive voices out there, on both sides, usually make these explorations an impossibility.

Respectfully

MenO

Sort:  

Buenos días. Siempre he creído que la bondad de las personas viene de un sentimiento muy profundo, unido al temor de Dios, que lo castigaría, sí actúa contra los mandamientos cristianos. No soy practicante religioso, pero trato de actuar con bondad, con la gente y los demás seres vivos, exceptuando los casos utilitarios de alimentación. Va a resultar interesante, la respuesta, que todos estamos esperando, del padre Casey. aliriera

Existen personas creyentes que dicen que la bondad esta como quien dice grabada en el corazon del hombre. Quizas tu crees esto?

Soy de la idea que la frase "temor a Dios" es muy cargada. Si una persona solo es buen padre, buen hijo, etc, por temor, no es sincero. No crees?

Decir "temor a Dios", es una manera de creer que si obras con maldad, y te alejas de la bondad, siempre te va a ir mal.
Existen personas practicantes de religiones, que temen hacer el mal, por temor a dios, y esa es su guía.
Quienes respetamos al prójimo, y lo tratamos con bondad, a pesar de no practicar la liturgia católica, o cualquier otra creencia religiosa, nos inspiramos es esa parábola planteada por Cristo Jesús, de tratar a tu prójimo, como te gustaría que te traten a tí.
Saludos y gracias por contar con su respaldo, en mis publicaciones. aliriera

To me prayer, healing, and the evolution of thought to point where philosophy can manifest are the most apparent indicators of God. I am not religious, and may verge on agnosticism, but I do think it is highly likely that there is some sort of creative force that manifests good into the universe. This force seems to have our backs, but we also have to have our own backs. I don’t see the hardships of life as a proof of a callous universe.
For me, atheism is not an option, just like religion is not. Some could even argue that atheism is a religion. It’s a belief system that relies on nonbelief as its tenets. I have just seen and experienced too much in this world to discount a creator, but I’m open to the idea that I have no idea what exactly that creator is, or even if creator is the correct term. But I do know that love is the most important thing for humans to understand. You guys all rock.

Great thoughts Steve. Well, It sounds like you might lean towards pantheism. I think it's a very peaceful and harmonious way to perceive existence.

I know we say it's best not to judge people, but in truth we all do. That being said, I try, key word being "try", to judge people for their character and not for the religiosity or lack thereof.

Cheers mate.

For sure. Character and actions.

That was an interesting video. And a good response.

where does goodness come from?

I’m probably what he would describe as a lazy atheist. Which is fine.

I’m not read up. I don’t have time to. I’m busy raising my family, living my life, making experiences count and making his place a better more bearable planet to live on.

By default it’s not my job to prove that god doesn’t exist.
It’s a believers job to show me that he does.

Cheers for sharing that video :)

i think your reasoning is practical Ash... I would, however, encourage you to explore some of the literature or lectures. I promise... it's food for the brain.

Not saying what you are doing is not awesome.

Cheers mate.

The point is that God must exist, that is what we must believe in. trust depends on what each one believes. I agree that the very dangerous ones are those who do not believe in God (atheists)

atheists like Osama Bin laden for example.