Art, Africana and Enamelware - Another day in the life of a South African online seller

in #auction7 years ago

With the constant flow of collectibles and antiques that pass through my hands, I can certainly say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I tend to prefer the unusual, rustic and mechanical, but there is a place for everything, and a home for each pre-loved article!

                                          

This is the first time I have seen an enamel bucket like this, with the unusual handles and rather strange lid. After dealing in collectibles for so long, it is always a treat to come across something never before seen!

Vintage enamel soap holders are extremely popular and this is another first for me, it has a lid!

Known South African Artist: Dirk Venter

Unknown South African Artist!

                                  

(I wish this was a genuine Windberg!)

The amount of art and art prints my husband and I buy is astounding. Even more astounding is the fact that these beautiful pieces are often discarded and allowed to become filthy. I have a lot of art on our online site and it is a very steady seller.

(Honestly, I personally can't stand porcelain, especially English Porcelain. But I do like to make money!) Grindley milk jug.

                                        

This old oriental vase is a lot more interesting. I suspect it has significant age, but I am unable to identify the back stamp. Which is sadly often the case. I once had a ceramic jug for sale in the shop and my museum curator friend told me that it was a valuable piece of early South African pottery. It simply was marked with an"L" with a circle around it. I had it for sale in the shop for R29 ($2,20), and after he spoke to me I listed it and received R2000 ($150)! My husband gave the curator a voucher and I bought him chocolates!

Africana is especially sought after. This is a Dutch East India Company replica bowl.

            

                               

                               

                               

                               

This fantastic jar was made to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Great Trek, where the Boers moved inland from the coast of South Africa to escape British control.

                                 

Above, the decorative slate tile depicts the struggles encountered by both the Boers and English with the native African population of South Africa due to their encroachment on tribal territories.


As usual, I have so many fascinating listings, but I can only share a fraction with you. If you would like to view my online site, or any of the items I have shared, please request the link in the comments.


Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree 

Sort:  

The decorative tile is gorgeous.
Is it possible that it's not a lid for the decorative bucket, but rather a plate it stands on?

Mmm, could well be.....off she goes to check....
Thanks for the input!

Hello @onetree,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.002 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Thank you!