comc56 MIKE MAZZONE READS THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO BY ALEXANDRE DUMAS PART 56

in #audiobooks5 years ago

https://bittubers.com/playlist/144/55 For by unlike zone and I'm reading the count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas I mean that's and a Monte Cristo digging underneath these trees found neither skeleton or chest because neither of them was there no end in either of them their repeated Madame Dave Lars Hurst airing wide open eyes expressing her alarm neither of them there she said again as those striving to impress yourself with the meaning of the words which escaped her know said the fort buried his face in his hands know 100 times no they did not vary the port child there sir why did you deceive me where did you place it tell me where there are listen to me this an annual pity made was for 20 years alone or the heavy burden of grief I am about to reveal without casting the least portion upon you know you frighten me but speak I will listen you can recollect that said nights when you are half expecting on that bid in the Renton mast Brougham while I scarcely less agitated than you awaited door delivery the child was born was given to me motionless with this voiceless we thought it dead meat in daimler's move rapidly as though she would spring former chair with ill afford stops and clasped his hands as if to implore her attention we thought it did he repeated and placed it in the chest which was to take the place of a cough and I descended to the garden into the hole and then flung it down in haste stays they had uncovered it with earth's when the arm of the course he was stretched worse me is saw a shadow rise and at the same time a flash of lights they felt pain I wish to cry out with an icy shiver ran through my veins and stifled my voice I fill lifeless infinity myself killed and never shall I forget your sublime courage when having return to consciousness I'd read myself to the foot of the stairs and you almost I yourself came to meet me you obliged to keep silent upon the triple catastrophe you had the fortitude to regain the house assisted by your nurse the dual was the pretext for my wounds and the waste is the expected it's our secret remained in our own keeping alone I was taken to Versailles for three months I struggled with death at least as I seems to cling to life closer to the south form and carried me from Paris to salons walking six Lisa De madame De villa forts followed the letter in her carriage that salons I was put upon the CIA owner finn said passed on to the room was I descended merely with fed current two arias and isles I was again placed on my letter and continued my journey two Versailles my recovery left and six months I never heard you mentioned and I did not dare inquire for you when I returned to Paris other that you the widow of and a bag on fifth and married and anglers for what was the subject of my thoughts from the time consciousness return to me always the same always the child's corps coming every night in my dreams rising from the earth and hovering over the grave with menacing look in Chester for I inquired immediately on my return to Paris the house had not been inhabited since we left its but it had just been less for nine years I found the tenants I pretended that I dislike the idea of the house belonging to my waist father and mother should pass into the hands of strangers for an offer to pay them for canceling police they demanded 6000 francs I would've given 10,000 I would've given 20,000 I had the money with me and make the tenants sign the deed of Lou rest arisen resolution and when I had obtained with eyes so much wanted a gallop to all too well known into the house since I have left it was 5:00 AM they ascended to the red room and waited for nights there all the thoughts which a disturbed me during my year of constant agony came back with double force for the corsican way to clear the vendetta against me who had followed me from nine's two knives to Paris went him in himself in the garden who had struck me that seem mediate the grade in seen me in inter the child he might become acquainted with your person for made you might even then have known its when he not one day make you pay for keeping this terrible secrets when it not be a sweet revenge for him we found that I had not died from the blow of his dagger it was therefore necessary will be for everything else in all risks that I should cause all traces of the pass to disappear that I should destroy every material the stage too much reality would always remain in my recollection he was for him I had an old the lease it was for this I had come was for this I was waiting night arrived and Long Beach become quite dark I was without a light in that room when the wild should call the doors behind which I continually expected to see some snide concealed in trembled as seemed everywhere to hear your bones behind me in the bed and I did not turn around my heartbeat so violently that I feared might move would open at length one by one all the noise is in the neighborhood ceased I understood that I had nothing to fear that I should neither be seen or heard so I decided upon the sending to the garden is in her mining I consider myself is brave is most men when I drew from my breast the little key of the staircase which I've found in my coats that little kiwi boat use to Cherish shown much as you wish to have fastened to a golden ring when I open the door and saw the pale Moon shedding a long stream of white lights on the spiral staircase like a specter I leaned against the wall in nearly shrieked they seem to be going mad at less than Mr. My education in ascended the staircase step by step the only thing I could not conquer was a strange trembling in miami's Ickes grasp the remains if I have relaxed might hold for a moment I should've fallen Irish the lower door beside the store a spade was placed against the wall is jackets and advanced course the thickets and provide myself with a dark blue lantern in the middle of the law on a stop to light it that I continued my path was the end of November all the Verdi year of the garden had disappeared the trees were nothing more than skeletons with their long bony arms and the dead leaves sounded on the gravel under my feet my terror overcame me to such a degree as I approached the thickets that that I took a pistol from my pockets in arms myself and conceded continually that I saw the figure of the corsican between the branches examined the thickets with my dark winter and it was empty and look carefully around I was indeed alone no noise disturb the silence with the owl was piercing cries seem to be calling up the phantoms of the knights a time and entered to a fork branch I had noticed a year before at the precise spot rest up to date the whole bigger as a grown very safely there during the summer and win awesome arrived no one had been there to mow it's still one place where the grass was fin attracted my attention in evidently was there I had turned up the ground I went to work the hour than for which I had been waiting during the last year had at length arrived till I worked how I hoped I was struck every piece of turf the king to find some resistance to my spade but no I found nothing though I had made a hole twice as large as the first I thought I had been deceived had mistaken a spot in turn around and look at the trees and try to recall the details which had struck me at that time a cold sharp wind whistled through the leafless branches and yet the drops fell from my forehead a recollected that I was stabbed just as I was trampling the ground with fill up the hole while doing so I have thinned against of lumber done behind me was an artificial rock Kurri intended to serve as a resting place for persons walking in the garden dean calling my hand relaxing is hold of the Lombard and felt the coldness of the stone on my right is saw the tree behind me the rock I stood in the same attitude and threw myself down and rooms and again begin digging in enlarging the hold till I found nothing nothing the chest was no longer there murmured and anglers joking with beer feet not die contended myself with this one effort continued villa fort know a search the whole thickets I thought the assess and having discovered the chest is opposing into Beatrice are had intended carried it off what receiving his error had dug another co and deposited eight there that I could find nothing in the idea struck me that he had not taken these precautions and had simply throw it in the corner in the last case I must wait for daylight to renew my search and remained in the room in reaching the ravens fifth when daylight done to you and down again the first visit was to the thickets and hope to find some traces which had escaped me into darkness interned up the earth over the surface of more than 20 feet square in the depth of 2 feet labor would not have done any day when occupied me an hour when I could find nothing absolutely nothing then I renew the search supposing it had been thrown aside that would probably be on the path which led to the little guy eight but this examination was as useless as the first and without bursting heart I return to the thicket which now contains no hope for me both Redmond and anglers it was enough to drive you mad and I hoped for a moment that it might said the fort that that happiness was denied me however recovering my strength in my ideas why said I should that men have carried away the corps but you said the damned anglers he would require it as a proof of unknown madame they cannot be dead bodies are not kept and here they are shown to a magistrate and the evidence is taken know nothing of the kind has happened what then it has too many troubling file me something more terrible more fatal moral or other for us the child was perhaps a live in the assassin may have saved its bid and anglers under the piercing cry and seizing villa forts hands explained my child was alive said she you buried my child alive you are not certain my child was dead and buried its on the day and anglers SP had risen as did before the procurer was hanshin wrong in her feeble grasp and am not when they suppose so as I might suppose in something else suppose anything else reply villa fort with a look so fixed its indicated that his powerful mine is on the verge of despair and madness it's it's on my child mike or child cry the baroness fully honored share a stifling your son sinner handkerchiefs meal of fort becoming somewhat reassured perceive the two avert that Michie maternal storm gathering over and said he must inspire midday and anglers with the terror he felt you understand than that if it were so said he and rising in his turn in approaching the baroness to speak to her in a lowered so we're lost this child lives and someone knows it lives someone is in possession of our secrets Mrs. Martin Christo speaks before a silly child distant erred when that child could not be found it is caesar is in possession of our secrets it's it's it's inches Monte Cristo speaks before us of a child is injured when a child could not be found is he was in possession of our secrets just god avenging god murmured made and anglers Phil Karn fort only answer was a stifled room with a child that child sir repeated the agitated mother how your search for him reply fill a fort wringing his hands though I have called him in my long sleepless nights now I have long for royal wealth to purchase a million of secrets from a million of men and to find mine among them at fast one day before the 100th time I took up my spade as myself again and again with a course can it could have done with the child a child encumbers a fugitive perhaps a perceiving it was still alive the auth road it into the river impossible Redmond and anglers a manmade murder and other out of revenge but have not deliberately drowning child perhaps continued the fort you'd put it in the farming hospital oh yes yes cry the baroness my child is there I ran to the hospital and learned that the same night's the night of the 20th of September the child had been brought their wrapped in part of a fine linen napkin purposely torn in half for his portion of the napkin was marked with half the barons crown in the letter in each truly truly said madame taylor's all my then and is marked boss was sordid nor gone was a bear and it's in my name is hermione thank god my child was nothing bad know it was not dead and you can tell me so without fearing to make me die of joy where is the child pill for shrugged his shoulders do I know said he and do you believe that if I knew I would relate to you all its trials and all its adventures as would a dramatist or a novel writer alas no and no knots a woman about six months after came to claim it with the other half of the napkin this woman gave all the requisite particulars and was entrusted to her that you should have inquired for the woman he should have traced are and what do you think I did I feigned a criminal process employed all the most acute bloodhounds and skillful engines in search of her the Treister Touche alongs and they're the luster the luster us forever made and anglers have listen to this recital with aside a tear in a treat for every detail and this is all said she and you stop there don't know said the port and never cease to search and to acquire however the last two or three years and allowed myself some respite but now I will begin with more perseveres in theory than ever since fear urges me not my conscience but replied madame daimler's the count of Monte Cristo Kay and no nothing or he would not seek her society as he does owe the week innocent man is very great kid of fort cha Suk surpasses the goodness of god you observe that man's eyes while he was speaking to us know but have you ever watched him carefully doubt this he is capricious with that is all with the low struck me of all the exquisite things in place before us he touched nothing I might have suspected he was poisoning us in UC you would have been deceived us doubtless but believe me that man has other projects for that reason I wish to ski you to speak to you to warn you against every one but especially against him sell me a ride villa fort fishing his eyes more steadfastly on her then he had ever done before did you ever reveal to anyone in your connection never to anyone you understand me replied the fort affectionately when I say any one pardon my urgency to anyone living I mean yes yes I understand very well in jet fuel and the baroness never I swear to you were you ever in the habit of writing in the journal what had transpired in the morning to you keep a journal no my life has been passed and frivolity I wish to breguet it myself you talk in your sleep and sleep soundly like a child do not remember the color mounted to the bitterness is face and villa fort turn awfully pale as is true said he and solo its own that he could hardly be heard Wilson baroness will I understand what I now have to do replied villa fort in less than one week from this time I will ascertain where this and a Monte Cristo is when see comes where he goes in why he speaks in our prayers presence of children that have been disinterred in the garden bill for pronounced these words with an accent which would have made the count shudder that he heard them heard him they pressed the hand of baroness reluctantly gave him and that are respectfully back to the door maid and anglers return in another can to the passage on the other side of which she found her carriage and are coachman sleeping peacefully on his box while reaching for her chapter 60 eights a summer ball the same day during the interview between the damned anglers and a procurer the traveling carriage entered the rue De elder passed through the gateway of number 27 and stopped in the yard in a moment the door was opened in madame De were served a lighted and leaning on her son's arm Albert soon left are ordered his forces in having arranged his drew its truth to that chance in the seas to the house of Monte Cristo go the count received him with his eventual smile it was a strange thing that no one ever appear to our fastest act in that man's favor those who would as it were force a passage to his hearts found an impassable barrier more serve will rent for some with open arms was chilled a receipt for mir in spite of the friendly smile and simply held out his hand Monte Cristo should be coldly according to his in variable practice their eye and ear counts will go home again I arrived an hour since from city of bid know from tree ports indeed and I have come at once to see you that is extremely kind of years said mark Monte Cristo with the tone of perfect indifference and what is the news should not ask a stranger a foreigner for means I know it's been asking the news I mean have you done anything for me that you commission be said Monte Cristo finning uneasiness from come said Elbert do not assume so much indifference is said sympathy travels rapidly and when it report I felt the electric shock if neither been working for me or thinking of me and possibly said Monte Cristo I have indeed thought of you but the magnetic wire I was guiding up acted indeed without my knowledge the DDE pray tell me how it happened willingly and anglers dined with me I know it to avoid meeting him my mother and I left town but he'd met here in a mantra Eric Abel can see your Italian prince not so fast imagery are only calls himself can't calls himself do you say yes calls himself is enough accounts work and I know of him the calls itself so live course give him the same title and everyone else does likewise when a strange man you are what next you say and anglers dined here yes with count cattle canty the murky his father the damned anglers amin madame De villa Ft German people in debris Maximilian Murrell in and Asia to renown guy they speak of me not a word so much the worse was so I thought you wish them to four gate for get you that they did not speak of me I'm sure they thought about me and I am in despair how will that affect uses mademoiselle dealers was not among the number here who thought a few truly she might have thought of you at home I have no fear of that or if she did it was only in the same way in which I think of are touching sympathy so you hate each other said the count is in some were served at mademoiselle dealers were disposed to take pity on my supposed martyrdom on her account and wouldn't dispense with all matrimony all formalities between our two families I am ready to agree to the arrangements book in a word and men were Seldane dealers would make the charming mistress with a wife Diablo a van ness said Monte Cristo is your opinion of your intended spouse fifth yes it is rather a kind of knowledge but it is true where is this dream cannot be realized says man was all dealers must if must become my lawful wife it's it's it's they perpetually with me sing to me compose vs. a music within 10 paces of me and that for my whole life that frightens me 1 May forsake a mistress but a wife good heavens there she was always be into Mary mademoiselle dealers would be awful you are difficult to please his counts us for I often wish for what is impossible which is that you find such a wife is my father found Monte Cristo turn pale and looked and Albert while playing was some magnificent pistols her father was fortunate and said he you know my opinion of my mother can't look at her still beautiful 20 more charming than ever for any other son to have stayed with his mother for four days eight report it would have been a condescension or a martyr dumb while I return more contented more peaceful shall I say more poetic than if I had taken cream man or teach a neon as my companion that is an overwhelming demonstration and you would make everyone vowed to live the single life center my reasons for not liking to Mary Mather Seldane bars that the Rev. noticed how much of thing is heightened in value me obtain possession of its fifth the diamond which glittered in the window at morals or false and shines with more splendor when it is our own but we are compelled to acknowledge the superiority of on other and still must retain the one that is inferior do you not know what we have to endure were delaying murmured account the session rejoice when men was a Eugenie perceives I am but a pitiful at some with scarcely as many 100,000 francs a she has millions Monte Cristo smiled one plan occurred to me continued Albert Franz likes all that is a censure a shine to make him fall in love with men resulting Lars but in spite of four letters written in the most alluring style he invariably answered my eccentricity may be great there will not make me break my promise that is what I call devoted friendship to recommend to another one whom you would not bury yourself ever smiled a pro close continued the trend is coming soon there will not interest you you dislike him I think I said Monte Cristo my dear discount how have you discovered that I did not like in Franz I like everyone and you include me in the expression every one many thanks that is not mistake said Monte Christo and love everyone is god commands us to love our neighbor as Christians left or the hate but a few that is returned to and from stay up and may do you say he was coming yes summoned by and a bill Ford was apparently is anxious to get men was a Valentine Mary as an eight dealers is to see Mademoiselle Eugene settled for them a spear very gruesome office to be the father of a grownup daughter is seems to make one feverish injuries once polls to 19 beats a minute until the deed is done that India been a unlike you there's his misfortune patient who still more the talk seriously about the matter but on a white tie and speaks of his family he entertains a very high opinion of him and madame De villa forts which they deserve do they not I believe in two and a villa Ford has always pass for a severe but a just man there is then one said Monte Cristo whom do you do not condemn light for dealers because I am not compelled to bury his daughter perhaps replied Albert nothing indeed my dear sir said Monte Cristo your revolt in the foppish by foppish house you mean yes retake a cigar and sees to defend yourself into struggle to escape married men resulting Lars the things take their course perhaps you may not have to retract bus and Albert steering down this might if discount you will not be taken by force in seriously do you wish to break up your engagement by Ricky berry 100,000 francs to be able to do so that make yourself quite easy and anglers forgive double that some to retain the same and in my indeed so happy said Albert who still cannot prevent an almost imperceptible cloud passing across as brown but my dear count as in daimler's any reason of berries are proud and selfish nature Unix blows the self love of another with a hatchet but you treat of your own is attacked with a needle that gets and anglers appeared delighted with few was he not well he's a man of bad taste is still more enchanted with another anno not whom look and judge for yourself that you I understand what my mother know not my mother a mistake my father intends giving able to a ball at this season summer balls are fashionable that they were not the county's has only to wish it and they would become so your rights you know they are selective fares those who remain in Paris in July must be true for a scenes would you take charge of our invitation to miss years cattle can see where will it take place on Saturday and cattle can see it's father will be gone with the sun will be here when you invite young and help would kill accounted by do not know him discount do not know him know I never saw them until a few days since and am not responsible for him to which you receive him at your house is another thing it was recommended to me by a good and a boom may be deceived given a direct irritation but are not passed me to present him if he were afterwards to Mary mademoiselle daimler's he would accuse me of intrigue it would be challenging me besides they may not be there myself we're better ball why should you not be there because you have not yet invited me but I come expressly for that purpose you're very kind but I may be prevented if I tell you one thing will be so enviable as to set aside all of pediments to me what it is my mother bags you to come the contest a mercer said Monte Cristo starting on count said Albert I assure you madame they were serve speaks freely to me and if you have not felt those sympathetic fibers of which I spoke just no thrill within you you must be entirely devoid of them were during the last four days we have spoken of no one else you're talked of me us that is the penalty of being a living puzzle and I am also a puzzle to your mother I should have thought her two reasonable to be led by imagination a problem might account for every one for my mother as well as others much study but not solved you still remain and we grew do not fear my brother my mother is only astonished that you remain so long on solvent I believe while the county's gee takes you for Lord Russ then my mother emissions you to be carried Leo Stroh or the Count Saint Germain the first opportunity you have confirmed her in her opinion it will be easy for you as you have the philosophy of the one and the rights of the other I thank you for the warning said the count I shall endeavor to be prepared for all suppositions you will then come on Saturday yes six madame De Mer serve invites mean you're very kind will and anglers be there he has already been invited by my father we shall try to persuade the great gay artist sue and a villa fort to come but have not much hope of seeing him never does where of anything says the proverb and do you dance count by dance yes you it would not be astonishing that is very well before one is over for me know I do not dense but I like to see others to so as madame De were served dance never you can talk to her she's so delights in your conversation indeed it is truly and I assure you you're the only man whom I have heard her speak with interest the other frozen turkeys hats account conducted him to the door fee of one thing to reproach myself with said he stopping Albert on the steps would as its I've spoken to you in discreetly about dealers on the contrary speak to me always in the same strain about him and Blanche Vera should reassure on that point a pro post when do you aspect ending up in a five or six days hence at the latest there were seen to be married immediately on the arrival of a amendment and async Maran bring into Simi although you say I do not like him I assure you I shall be happy to see him and will obey your orders my lord Goodby until Saturday when I may expect you may I nots yes I promised you a count watched Albert waving his hand to him when he had mounted them fit on Monte Cristo turn and see their Tuccillo what news said he she went to the blaze replied the steward be just a long they're an hour and 1/2 that she returned home directly well my temper to cheer said the count and our visor to go in quest of the little estate and spoke to you love in Normandy region two bowed and as his wishes were in perfect harmony need with the order he had received the started the same evening to chapter 69 the inquiry and a villa Ford kicked the primacy and made two madame De noirs to endeavour to find out how the count of Monte Cristo had discovered the history of the house of a tool he wrote the same day for the required information two and a vaudeville who from having been an inspector of prisons was promoted to a high office in the police and a letter by for two days time for a cert AIN exactly who would be most likely to give him full particulars at the end of the secondary and they've built forts receive the following note the person call the count of Monte Cristo is an intimate acquaintance of Lord Willmore a rich foreigner was sometimes seen in Paris and who is there at this moment is also known to the NBA bow Sony is a silly and priest of pirate used in the east were easy has done much good and April 4 reply by ordering the strictest inquiries to be made respecting these two persons is orders were executed in the following evening the receipt of these details the abbey it was in Paris only for a month inhabited a small to story house behind say sulcus there were two rooms on each floor and he was the only turns the two lower rooms consisted of a dining room with a table shares inside core of walnuts and a wainscoting parlow are without ornaments carpet or timepiece it was evident that they be limited himself to objects of strict necessity and they prefer to use the sitting room upstairs which is more library than parlor and was furnished with theological books in parchment in which she delighted to bury himself 494 months in a time according to his filly did some bread is the layer looked at the visitors you're a sort of wickets and if their faces were unknown to him or displeased him he replied that the abbey was not in Paris and answer which satisfied most persons because the abbey was known to be a great traveler besides weather at home or not whether in Paris or Cairo the NBA Elise left something to give away was the direct was a fairly distributed through his wicket in his master's man and the other room near the library was a bedroom a bed without curtains for armchairs and a couch covered with yellow who tracked velvets compose with their prey do all its furniture's Lord Willmore resided in rue fontaine Saint George he was one of those English forests to consume a large fortune in traveling the higher the apartment in which he lived furnished best only a few hours in the day there in rarely slept there one of his particular peculiarity is was never to speak a word of French were she however wrote with great facility the day after the support and information had been given to the procurer to Roy a man alleged from a carriage at the corner of the roof a row in wrapping it in all of greed or ask if the abbey personae were within know he went out early this morning reply the filly I might not always be content with that answer reply the visitor for I come from one to whom everyone must be at home but have the kindness to give the abbey blue Sony I told you he was not a tone repeated of L.a. then on his return gave him that card and this seal paper loop it will he be at home at 8:00 this evening doubtless unless he is at work which is the same as if he were out I will come again at that time replied the visitor with then retired else out there and I'm reading a count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas and unlike zone thanks for listening

Sort:  

Congratulations @mikemazzone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!