Not your average hedgehog!

in #australia6 years ago

So you think you've seen it before: meh, just another hedgehog. Well, this is not, this is Echidna.

Can your hedgehog lay eggs? Echidnas are the only mammal that can! And it's easy to understand - imagine they had to give birth to those spiky babies, ouch!

How about the electrical sensors on its nose? They can use electroception to detect tiny changes in the surrounding electrical fields, navigate and hunt the total darkness.

Echidna is not your average hedgehog.jpg

This is my photo for animal photography contest. Thank you @juliank for creating and curating the contest:

To participate share any animal photography with the tag #animalphotography. Good luck and have fun!


Image source: photo by @steemulator
Camera: Fuji XE1
Location: South Australia


Sort:  

Special electrical hedgehog ;)

it is, very special :) Thank you for stopping by!

It's my pleasure. Besides, I was familiar with the name Echidna, but not with its look :)

Congratulations @steemulator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Looks cute but don't pick it up.

True, not without gloves ; )

I didn't know that echidnas lay eggs. Thank you for sharing this information. But yes, it does make sense. The mother echidna would have trouble giving birth to her babies with spikes.

Thank you, glad you support my Darwinian thought process : -P

Well, I beg to disagree, though. What I thought was, how awesome is God for His intelligent design. :)

Same thing, I use words G-d and Nature interchangeably : )

Allow me to disagree again. For me, God created nature so I can't use them interchangeably. Nature did not create God. :)

Fair enough. I think of Nature not just as bugs and flowers around us but more in general terms, such as Universe.

I agree. For me, Nature includes the Universe.

Excellent publication this virus is very difficult to cure, I get it when I get stressed or I have a strong emosion is uncontrollable, it manifests with small ulcers on the skin, pruito and discomfort

Thank you for your comment, I think you are reflecting on my previous post about Herpes Viruses : )

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 14:56:13
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 358.62/400.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 25
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank