A loose roo?!

in #australia6 years ago

I got to work the other day and was instantly hit with an avalanche of reports that a roo was lose on my street. I was prodded, poked and questioned like a new species had been discovered and the scientists needed specimens, fast!

Too bad I never saw the bludy thing and I took the interrogation like an old, wet worn out sock flapping around in a cyclone, hanging on the clothesline by its last thread. Ok it wasn’t that bad, I too was naturally intrigued by the boundless limits as to why hoppy was there in the first place. I’ve never seen one of my neighbours walking his kangaroo down the street on a lazy afternoon and no one had done any substantial landscaping or trucked in loads of fruit, nor have I ever heard roo mating calls, and I mean ever, I have no idea what a kangaroo sounds like.

So, still the unanswered question as to why. Everyone was speculating, there was a blanket hype floating through work and it provided a lovely morning reverie of escape. Maybe hoppy too, was trying to escape after being held captive as a pet since birth, and now what he wanted most in this world was to meet others just like him, he was sure he wasn’t the only one. Could it be that hoppy just had to get away from country life, thought he would try the big game in the city smoke, was told never to go there which is precisely why he went. Caught, cuffed and locked up in zoo prison where all the visitors would come and take photos as evidence to send back to his family that he was a failure!

I can imagine his scared face as he hopped back and forth, weaving through driveways, dodging cars, jumping at loud noises and completely disoriented by a strange heavy fast paced world with absolutely nowhere to hide, no time to think. I never heard the outcome of that event, but I pray he’s back home safe with one hell of a story to share, chewing the bark with friends who are now planning a group op together. I like to think the wildlife are secretly conspiring against the humans and sometimes are game enough to venture into our world that we build over, on top and around them, but they need the support of their group. Just like @bigdizzle91 says in his post about Australian wildlife, roos are pack animals and they will look after themselves in the wild if in a group; post here.

Of course, reflection ensues. I’ve never spent the time wondering how I would deal with finding myself suddenly lost in unfamiliar territory, being just as much as an eye saw as the alien world. Give up and feint, succumb to the laws of the foreign or feign helplessness. Or would I fight for a way out, pray for a helping hand a guiding light. Maybe I’d flip out and just start crushing things, even if it’s just a coke can or a dried autumn leaf and find a dark corner and rock my fears back and forth to oblivion. I couldn’t tell you what I’d do until the time comes.

God speed hoppy, my thoughts are with you in this moment and I hope you were reunited with your fellow roos.

** Only in Australia stuff

Image Source

Sort:  

I hope the little guy is safe, too...

I have a feeling he is :)

Haha what a rockstar

We had a koala on our street a couple of years ago. He wasn't a tame one though. Hissed at me like I was the interloper.

Koalas hiss? That’s such a trap! Here you are thinking aww cute and fluffy, then BAM it’s hissing at you with its claws coming at you. Ultimate predator.

I kept most of my fingers and learned a valuable lesson.

You got a 38.78% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @stuffing!