My Stories Featured on Two Sites

in #australian5 years ago (edited)

Introduction

My Stories Are Featured on Two Sites Both My Accounts
I will release on both sites at same time.

https://www.publish0x.com/?a=WPe9GL4bLy

https://steemit.com/@scoopslapues

Please if you like upvote and resteem

The First Part Of The First Story


A Soldier's Journal

20191115_123319~2.jpg

Early February in 1950, I had asked my Mother and Father to help me fill and sign the paper's needed to join the R.A.N.R.C (Royal Australian Naval Reserves Cadets), My Mother did not wish to do so as i was only 16, Through the endless pestering she finally agreed to sign them allowing me to become a Cadet (R.A.N.R Cadets 1950–1973 Defense). unlike today's naval cadets, you joined at the age of 16 to 18 years old. When I had joined all the extra things such as medical was carried out by the commander. He was a old man with A lifetime of worries etched into his thin, frail face. Each wrinkle earned from long forgotten battles. I had found the sight test extremely hard at first and it was mainly involving long sight and colour tests. I remember one was in a very long, dark tunnel and at the end where some very small lights they where in different position with different colours as well as a little box with even smaller lights, that would light up to form letters and numbers.

The results of my medical had come back, thus allowing me to join the navy as a seaman stoker, not a seaman gunner that i wanted. I was able to choose from cook or writer, but I felt I best fit engine room branch shoveling coal.

Once the medical was over I had signed the necessary papers and reported to HMAS Moreton. upon arrival I was given my kit and spent the next few weeks being instructed on how to clean and iron my uniform. The navy uniform is ironed inside out and folded up and placed in a neat bundle, This was your kit. Fail'er to do so would result in punishment and was inspected regularly. The next bout of training was with our instructor, where we where trained in the bull ring on how to march. Our instructor was a tall strong man that stood for all that’s good and for everything that was right. He followed everything to the book when it came to drill and When life seems darkest, he stood strong as our beacon of light. He was respected by all who knew him and His honor is beyond that of most men.He had trained us in knots and lashings showing us the practical use for each knot as well as training in rowing, sailing and boat work.This training continued for the next 6 months and was the longest 6 months of my life. We next moved into rifle drill's upon completion of this training we would travel to Enoggera Rifle range every 5 months to practice our shooting technique. (Enoggera Barracks also known as Gallipoli Barracks is an Australian Army base in the northwestern Brisbane suburb of Enoggera in Queensland.It was officially established in the early 20th century when the area was used for field training, although the area was used by military units as far back as the mid-19th century.) At the 12 months mark we where carrying out drills aboard ships and attending parades. we had also been given our rifles and where responsible for taking them home and cleaning them in our own time. "your rifle is your life" This confused me that I could take my rifle home but I could not sail past the mouth of the river. Even after passing our swimming which entailed many things.One of which we had to swim the length of a Olympic swimming pool in your kit including boots and pack. Once you reached the deep end you where instructed to remove all items in the water and apply a life jacket. I would do this many time through my military career.

To be continued, new paragraph each week