Growing an Avocado Tree: Is it Possible at Home?

in #avocado5 years ago (edited)


This past spring, my wife and I suddenly developed a new love for growing things. We had dabbled with a small garden and a few porch plants in the past, but all of the sudden, we desired all the plants. Trips to Home Depot and Lowe's were a nightmare for our wallets, as we couldn't resist all of the new, leafy, and colorful plants.

It's one thing to purchase a plant from a garden center and watch it grow. Of course, this also comes with its challenges. I had tried unsuccessfully to maintain care of various bonsai trees over the years (perhaps a subject for another time), and several other plants we had attempted to keep alive suffered from over- or under-watering among other things.

Armed with our new-found experience in growing things indoors and outdoors, I decided to venture out and try something new- growing a tree from seed. But not just any tree. I wanted to do something with the leftover avocado pits from our frequent consumption of guacamole, so I did a quick search online, only to discover that it didn't seem too difficult to sprout an avocado from a pit.

So on April 6th, I did it. After enjoying some delicious guacamole and saving an avocado pit, the first step was to get a tall, open-top container. I used a Mason jar. According to the guide I found online, it was as simple as putting toothpicks in the side of the avocado pit and placing it on top of the water-filled jar, and then wait.


The avocado pit approximately one week after placing it in the jar

So I waited.

A week went by, and the pit began to split open! After 10 days, I could see growth inside the split! It was pretty amazing to observe, because I had basically left it alone for over a week, only topping the water off a few times.


The plant is visible inside the pit after 10 days.

It wasn't long before the root began to drop, just like the online guide said. It was exciting to go into the kitchen to see how much more the root had grown.


Day 22. The root begins to drop!

After an entire month in the jar, the plant began to grow up and out of the pit. The root also split into two sections!


Day 30. The plant is almost out of the top, and the root split into two sections.

Three days later, the plant was visible. After over a month of waiting, the baby tree finally emerged from the pit!


Day 33. The brand new avocado seedling emerges from the top of the pit.

A week later, I finally began to see small leaves form as the tree grew taller.


Day 40. The avocado tree now has brand new leaves.

Once the leaves emerged, it was only a matter of time before the tree was ready to be moved into soil. The online guide said to wait until the plant was about 6 inches tall before moving to a container. I had to use a pot, since avocado trees are not hardy in cold temperatures, and as the winters here in Southwest Virginia can be very cold, the plant got moved into its own pot.


Day 46. The tree gets its own pot.

I kept the pot indoors after this for a few months, and the tree produced several new leaves and continued to grow taller.


Day 103. A happy plant.

It has now been almost 6 months since I placed the pit into the jar of water. The plant has been growing happily ever since, producing new leaves along the way. I have had one issue so far with some leaf browning, which began when I put fertilizer pellets in the pot. Avocados are sensitive to high salt concentrations in the soil, which I didn't know, but apparently the fertilizer I used had too much salt, which caused some of the oldest leaves to brown and fall off. To remedy this, I returned the pot to our front porch (it had been inside since it began to sprout), where I was able to more thoroughly water the plant and allow the water to run through and out the holes in the bottom of the pot.

The tree also had to adjust to the full sun after being indoors, but it has begun producing new growth again, so I hope these solutions will allow it to be happy! Here's what it looks like now (you'll notice the browning leaves at the bottom as well as the new growth at the top:


Day 156. Now a survivor of salt issues, the tree is producing plenty of new growth again.

So now I know you're all wondering, will it ever produce fruit?

The answer is yes. Of course it may take 7 to 10 years before this tree could produce fruit, and that's assuming the correct pollinators are around when the time comes. Oh, and additionally, the fruit may not be the same as the avocado that the pit came from. Grocery store avocados are grown on trees which have been grafted from existing trees, as this ensures consistency in size and flavor, as well as a shorter waiting period before the graft may produce fruit.

Nevertheless, even if I have to wait many years for my own avocados, this has been a really fun adventure. I've learned a lot about caring for plants and I enjoy watching the tree continue to grow.

If you would like future updates on the tree and its status, I have been continually updating this Twitter thread with updates, and I'm planning to continue updates. Who knows, if Twitter is still around in 7-10 years, perhaps you'll even see its first fruit!

I hope you've enjoyed this small glimpse into what's been going on in my life. I hope to provide a more thorough update on other life events in the future, but I couldn't resist wading into the waters of New Steem to share a fun post about growing things.

I encourage you to try growing something. It's so much fun. Just do a quick online search, and you can discover how to grow almost anything.

Oh, and if you are curious, this isn't the first time I've grown a tree from seed. Just ask my lemon tree.

I'd love to hear from you below, so leave a comment and I'll do my best to get back to you!



Posted from ethandsmith.com with SteemPress : https://ethandsmith.com/2019/09/growing-an-avocado-tree-is-it-possible-at-home/
Sort:  

Well, that's a lot farther than I ever got with any of my attempts. Congratulations!! I hope your little guy continues to thrive.

You should try again! It wasn't too difficult, especially placing it in the kitchen windowsill where I wouldn't forget about it.

I actually have another one that I started at the same time that's doing well also.

While the avocado trees are exciting, I'm more excited because my lemon tree will be three years old next summer, which means it could start producing fruit. We shall see! I'll be sure to keep you updated!

Nice job. We have done some avocado spoutlings as well, but never gotten a full size tree to grow...but our temps are a bit cool for avocados. I have a friend with a huge, producing tree. They're huge, you know. ;)

Oh, the temperatures here are way too cool. I think it has enjoyed being outdoors lately since we've been pretty warm, but I'll have to bring them inside within the next month as the evening temperatures start to dip.

I suppose I'll just have to keep my tree trimmed back so it won't be gigantic, haha. We'll see how that goes.

Thanks for the comment!

The avocado trees that grow around here grow more toward the tropical areas where the weather is in the 80-90s every day. Too hot for us! We prefer our year round 70s! :) We are about to make a quick visit back to the States and our bodies might go into shock if it's too hot or too cold! Lol!

I've never seen an avacodo seed sprout before! It cracks!!! That's amazing, I hope you get a nice tree that produces much fruit for you!

It's really been remarkable to observe! I don't know if it will live long enough to produce an avocado, but it's already been really fun growing it. Give it a try sometime!

Thanks for the comment!

Way to go great work. I'm inspired to grow my own now think it would grow in the uk? 💯🐒

You should go for it!

I'm sure that they would likely grow anywhere, as long as you keep it in the proper temperatures. I think they're generally happy between 17 and 35 C, but any temperatures, especially lower, may cause problems.

If you try it, I'd love to get updates! Thanks so much for stopping by to comment!

Great show be ok in the summer here then winter is coming now were down to 6 in the evening already. Moving very soon so will have the winter to make a space for some. I plan to post garden updates 💯🐒

Wow that was so cool to find out and so good to see your after such a long time !

Thanks for stopping by! I hope to continue to post updates on the tree as it grows! It's nice to share a piece of my life here on my blog after being away for such a long time. I appreciate your interaction!

Congratulations @ethandsmith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 63000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 64000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

WOW that is so cool to see it at the various stages, and lets hope it keeps growing and with time you have fresh avocado all grown from a pit

Have a great weekend
!trdo

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @ethandsmith!
@ethandsmith got 6 TRDO & @tattoodjay got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @macchiata.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks so much! I appreciate the support and the resteem!

👍
~Smartsteem Curation Team

Ir’s good for the soul to work in the soil, Ethan. Love your Avocado tree. Thank for sharing the process.

I always have to plant a few tomato and peeper plants each spring. 😊