Feeling weird after winning an award I didn't even know I was in the running for

in #award2 years ago

So I won best Photographer for 2022 for Anderson, Indiana

It is so weird, as I didn't even know I was in the running or that I had been nominated. I been working hard to grow my business, and I doubt I am even the best photographer. I love what I do, and am honored to be bestowed this honor. But I feel like such an imposter, maybe in a decade I will be good enough for that honor but I honestly don't feel I am there yet.

MichelleFreedPhotography(1).jpg

The Email stated it was based off my work and community service

So I am wondering if the alternative school I donate senior photos to, nominated me, because the only other community "service" I provide is that I am drop off location for pop tabs for Larry "The Can Man" VanNess . If you want to learn more about Larry you can find him on Facebook. He was recently hit by a car and isn't doing well and could use your prayers. We are still collecting Tabs for him so when he recovers we can keep him busy counting his tabs for the Ronald McDonald House. https://www.wthr.com/article/news/local/anderson-indiana-the-can-man-larry-van-ness-injured-hit-by-suv/531-7e188b07-417b-465c-a808-a208ee4df42e

So this is the press release they sent me

I am not sure when or if it will be in the paper but I been watching for it, because even though I feel like an imposter getting this award, it will help me grow my business and actually already has, because I was just booked to be the professional photographer at the 420 Shakedown Festival in April 2023. It is a big gig for me and I am extremely excited about it.

Screenshot 2022-10-24 112849.jpg

Here are a few shots I have taken over the last year

I have permission to share these photos, I don't share photos without a model release and permission.

DSC_3211.jpg

DSC_2434.jpg

DSC_2500.jpg

DSC_2618.jpg

DSC_3601 copy1.jpg

DSC_4707 copy.jpg

I have also been working on Composition photos

Creating overlays of photos I have taken and putting them in other images. Some are fantasy images. Some are images from the real world with a fantasy overlay.

1.jpg

DSC_3783.jpg

I have so much room to grow

Hopefully one day I won't feel like an imposter. But that isn't today.