Cakes #001- Orange Upside-down Cake

in #baking4 years ago

IMG_20200925_030834.jpg

In July, I had baked an Orange Upside-down Cake and really loved the taste. I had messed up the execution a bit as you can see below.

IMG_20200702_193509.jpg

So, I topped it with some orange flavoured buttercream frosting to add to the flavour profile, while also covering up the mistakes.

IMG_20200702_200043.jpg

My mom loved the cake so much that she wanted the same, but smaller, cake for her birthday.

So, on her birthday (today) I did just that. I used the same measurements and put them in a smaller cake pan. Luckily, there was no spillage and the cake came out just right.

IMG_20200925_030828.jpg

While I managed to not make the same mistakes last time, I made a new one this time. I got impatient and burned the caramel a bit... or a lot... I don't really know. I could smell that it was burnt and that it was bitter. I decided to use the burnt caramel anyway because I don't like to waste things. Luckily, I was able to cover up the bitterness of the caramel but dusting some extra sugar on top of the cake. This worked out perfectly and the cake tasted just lovely.

IMG_20200925_031111.jpg

Perhaps next time, I will candy the oranges before baking them. Apparently candying the oranges will help them retain their colour a bit more.

Let me know what you think :)