Sunday Morning in Bangkok

in #bangkok7 years ago (edited)

Bangkok has been cloudy and a bit bleak (for Bangkok -- I shouldn't complain) for the last couple of days, but I decided to make the best of it and head out for a few shots. It was a good opportunity to shoot some new locations and I'll be able to go retake the photos with better light in a few months.

I tried to catch the sunrise, but I really had to add in a lot of light in Lightroom. I've fully switched over to shooting RAW, but I'm still not shooting manual with the drone and unfortunately some of the photos are quite noisy as a result. Photos all taken with Canon 8000D (T6S/760D) or Mavic Pro with ND4 filter.

IMG_9544.JPG

I started out at Saphan Taksin BTS station, and walked across to get a view of the Shangri-La hotel (left and right wings) and Lebua (tall building in the center). I don't think most people living in Bangkok really take Lebua that seriously since its most recent claim to fame is as the set in the Hangover 2 (something the hotel and restaurant/bar definitely attempt to capitalize on), but it's a pretty epic building.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

In this photo we're up a little closer to the dome at Lebua's rooftop restaurant, Sirocco. In the background is the MahaNakhon building.

IMG_9525.JPG

One more shot of Lebua and MahaNakhon, from just above the Saphan Taksin BTS station. At this point, the sun started to break through the clouds which produced some really beautiful light. Unfortunately it didn't last very long.

IMG_9527.JPG

I'm always a little shocked to find so many people outside before 6.30am on a Sunday, but the parks are always packed. Thai people don't ever seem to sleep.

IMG_9528.JPG

IMG_9529.JPG

I moved on to the King Taksin The Great monument. I scouted this from Google Maps and I wasn't disappointed.

Something I do notice when getting outside of downtown early on the weekends is that people are already awake. Downtown, even in residential areas, people sleep in on the weekend. I suppose that's a reflection of economics.

IMG_9542.JPG

Finally, I walked over to the statue of King Rama 1. This statue and the surrounding park seem to always be empty.

IMG_9543.JPG

Thanks for reading! Please upvote, follow and reSteem!

Sort:  

Wow great post I was in Bangkok in January just made a post and have future posts for bangkok would love for you to check them out :)
I have Upvoted and Followed you :)

Thanks Lauren! Hope you liked BKK!