You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If value is just perception, then there must be some value in a piece of paper

in #banks7 years ago

I was thinking the same thing, but this time instead of paper why do some groups place more value over fairer skin? Skin bleaching for instance has become an obsession within many cultures and astonishingly enough in cultures, that have darker shades of skin. Where is this value coming from? Yes, I would understand if the person has a skin condition and skin bleaching would alleviate their skin condition, but why is a lighter or a fairer shade of skin perceived as being of a higher quality within society? They say perception is the best medicine, but it's also important what roles society collectively and some individuals (Hitler, Stalin, Kim-Jung Un) influence another person's perception.

Sort:  

I agree with you whileoutsanch, but it's just a case of these folks having been brainwashed through the ages. I know that in India for example, people with fairer skins are indeed perceived as being of a higher class within that society. It is really stupid if you ask me, but I am not from a culture with that "problem" so my opinion won't really count.
In fact, the only way you will get a real answer to your question is to ask someone who lives and breathes in a culture with those perceptions...