What happened to the barbecue tag?

in #barbecue8 years ago

The other night I was enjoying reading several of the stories under a tag for "bar-b-que" or "barbecue" but I've been checking for it over the last couple days and it seems to have disappeared? I'm wondering, are the moderators anti-meat or something? Personally, I'm down with PETA (People Eating Tasty Animals) and partake almost daily and usually multiple times daily. This is me this past Saturday, as you can see from the inside of my smoker, it gets a regular workout and has for the past fifteen years or so, it has served me faithfully over that time.

This is a Boston but/pork shoulder roast after about nine hours of smoking, while it might look burnt there is no direct heat under the roast, what appears to be burned is actually caramelized sugars on the outside from the apple cider vinegar/apple juice/cooking oil mop sauce mixture I spray on the roast to tenderize, flavor, and to help lock in moisture over the long smoking period. The next pic is the finished product, ready for pulled pork bar-b-que sandwiches, one of my two absolute favorites.

I admit, this is only my second post, so far I like the concept while I understand not every topic is fit for general public consumption what many people consider normal food and even abnormal foods shouldn't be outside the bounds of discussion. I'd love to write more food-based posts in the future, especially about bar-b-que and smoked critter.

Sort:  

is that will be delicious? if we use flavor in that meat

Here in the U.S. we use barbecue sauce, there are different varieties and recipes can be found all over the internet. Here's a basic recipe to get you started: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/19611/bar-b-que-sauce/?internalSource=hub%20recipe&referringId=2257&referringContentType=recipe%20hub&clickId=cardslot%2014
Typically the sauce for pulled pork is added after the pork roast has been shredded.

Watch for my next post and I'll give you very detailed instructions on how to make pulled pork barbecue sandwiches.