You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Universal Basic Income and Social Restitution

in #basicincome8 years ago

You obviously haven't read my recent blog posts. Two men crash on an tropical island that produces fresh fruit every day. They agree to divide the fruit. Each of them has a "basic income" and neither of them paid for it.

8 billion people crashed on this earth....

Sort:  

With more crashing every day when they are born! So when someone new crashes into our place called Earth we need to be able to provide for them as well. And have work for them to do that aligned with whatever skills and talents they develop and discover in their travels.

Of course they pay for it. They pay for it with time and effort. Or does the island produce fresh slave labor to pick the fruit every day also? Maybe monkey slaves?

The notion of a UBI depends is dependent on the men are willing (or able to be compelled) to accept some X amount of fruit that is less than they would otherwise get, in order to create this indemnity fund. This might be a tax (the men must give up some fruit every day) or it might simply be fruit that is collected directly by the system making less fruit available for the harvest.

Yes, you can garnish the wages of the evildoers to partially fund this, but you must first catch the evildoers (which takes resources that need to come from somewhere) and also there are some crimes that simply aren't going to get solved. You also have to make sure the system isnt gamable (fraudulent claims).

Also, different peoples' time has different value. If someone costs me one day, does he owe me what I bill out at for one day (spoiler alert -- its a lot) or what he makes in one day.

It is a typical response by someone who does not understand teh scientific basis of this concept.
I higlhy recomment this video to everyone. This is probably the best documentary out there which well explains and analyzes the concept of basic income.

Sweet, lets you and me divide our steem, yes?

We are actively engaging in the process of dividing the steem with every post and vote.

The difference between basic income representing shares of the Earth, and Steem, is that Steem is an abstract concept conceived from my mind and shared with the world. This abstract token, STEEM, is now shared among the collective consensus of thousands of people.

I am not advocating a redistribution of wealth, but a distribution. So I do not advocate taking from anyone which is what you are suggesting.

I think that the concepts of STEEM and Basic Income are very good transformatory means to shift our world towards social system designed around post-scarcity Resource Based Economy (such as the one advocated by The Venus Project or Buckiminster Fuller).

I love The Venus Project. Thanks for the link @logic! I feel like everyone should see that movie. However I feel like we must give credit to Dan's post about UBI and Decentralize Identification for being way more succinct and concrete.

Well sh!t, if it's voluntary. More power to it, and those who chose to participate.

If you are on a phone or computer you are already volunteering, as of Oct, 1st the internet switched hands and became the property of the "investors", and you became a citizen of NWO- New World Order. From then on everything you do is the property of the owners, and for everyone to see and use, userfruct they call it.

Oh my, I didn't realize you were talking about Steemit specifically. I thought you may have been making reference to real world fiat currency. Now that I know who you are, it definitely puts your post into better context. Wow, that was ultra special of me. I'm enjoying the experiment very much by the way, voluntarily at that!

... "from my mind and shared" ...

To expound for just a moment with the first principle of mentalism of Hermes

The mind is all. The universe is mental.

We are all individual and collective minds within the mind of the all. Our thoughts are not purely ours but thoughts shared with thoughts of others.
Think the idea of STEEM is partially in this direction. Although not easy to explain or understand on various levels. I'd be happy to explain more in a post in regards to a question to lend me a direction and starting point of shared understanding.

Wealth on its basic level is an added value that is shared. STEEM seems to be an idea of low barrier / friction entry / start for such shared thought exploration.

I would have to suppose they both still worked (in some manner) to pick their own fruit. So how does this actually translate to other scenarios?

I think comments and posts like this are why I'm still here on Steemit. There is intelligence, questioning and the stirring up of new, creative thoughts.